header-image

DISCOVER
Technical and scientific innovation

header-image header-image header-image header-image scroll down

Technological excellence in petroleum engineering


TOTAL

Total is a worldwide global energy group, one of the principal international oil and gas companies, and ranked 2nd in the world for solar power with SunPower. Its 100 000 employees are committed in supplying safer, cleaner, more efficient and more innovative energy accessible to as many people as possible. With operations in more than 130 countries, Total takes all steps to ensure that its activities consistently deliver economic, social and environmental benefits.

Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger

In order to achieve the objectives that Total makes in Exploration-Production, the Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger, better known as CSTJF, located in the heart of the town of Pau, represents a centre of technological excellence grouping together on the same site, scientific expertise and the study facilities of Total’s Exploration-Production (EP). The leading-edge technology of its laboratories, its HPC big-data computing power (Pangea supercomputer launched in 2013 with an original computing power of 2,3 petaflops, which in 2016 was boosted to 6,7 petaflops and to an increased storage capacity of 26 petabytes) make CSTJF an R&D centre and a pole of integrated competences renowned throughout the world, at the service of branches of EP operating all over the globe.

Illustration
2 900 EMPLOYEES
Illustration
40 NATIONALITIES
Illustration
3 500 OPERATIONS FOR 1 250 SITES ABROAD
Illustration
5 000M2 OF LABORATORIES
Illustration
50 000 PROFESSIONAL VISITORS EACH YEAR
Illustration
700 PARTNERSHIPS IN R&D

Its principal fields of activity of Exploration/production

Illustration
GEOSCIENCES
Illustration
DRILLING AND WELLS
Illustration
PRODUCTION TECHNIQUES
Illustration
RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT
Illustration
STUDIES AND SUPPORT FOR OPERATIONAL SUBSIDIARIES

In January 2016 TOTAL launched work on the construction
of a Physical rock Measurements Centre at Artigueloutan

Total

Construction work of the Physical rock Measurements Centre has started on land acquired by Total and located at Artigueloutan, a small town within the Pau-Pyrenees Agglomeration Community.

The construction of this centre has three main objectives
  ● To create a state-of-the-art tool allowing the optimisation of the reliability of data sets acquired in oil wells and mine shafts, and thus gain in efficiency
  ● To reduce the cost of data acquirement through access to « master » measurement standards and to tools of more simple use.
  ● To offer in-the-field training to the Group’s young geologists and reservoir engineers, in addition to their theoretical training

Through this choice of location, the Total Group, as part of its activities of research, studies, expertise and training, fosters the emergence of a competitive cutting-edge industrial fabric near to the CSTJF, able to respond to the challenges of the future of the oil, mining and geotechnical industries. In this way it participates in the strengthening of the technological attractivity and in the development of skilled employment in Béarn.

The Exploration-Production branch of the TOTAL group, established in Béarn since the beginning of the 1950s , thus continues to participate in the development of geosciences expertise activities as part of the studies carried out at Total’s Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger, located at Pau.

header-image

L'innovation
technique et scientifique

EN

scroll down

L'excellence technologique en génie pétrolier


TOTAL

Total est un groupe mondial et global de l’énergie, l’une des premières compagnies pétrolières et gazières internationales, n°2 mondial de l’énergie solaire avec SunPower. Ses 100 000 collaborateurs s’engagent pour une énergie meilleure, plus sûre, plus propre, plus efficace, plus innovante et accessible au plus grand nombre. Présent dans plus de 130 pays, Total met tout en œuvre pour que ses activités soient accompagnées d’effets positifs dans les domaines économiques, sociaux et environnementaux.

Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger

Pour atteindre les objectifs que se fixe Total en Exploration-Production, le Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger (CSTJF), situé au cœur de Pau, constitue un centre d’excellence technologique regroupant sur un même site l’expertise scientifique et les moyens d’étude de l’Exploration-Production (EP) de Total. Technologie de pointe des laboratoires, puissance du centre de calcul haute performance HPC (supercalculateur Pangea inauguré en 2013 d’une puissance originale de 2,3 pétaflops qui vient d’être portée en 2016 à 6,7 pétaflops et d’une capacité de stockage atteignant 26 pétaoctets) font du CSTJF un centre de recherche et développement (R&D) et un pôle de compétences intégrées reconnu dans le monde pétrolier, au service des filiales de l’EP qui opèrent partout sur la planète.

Illustration
2 900 COLLABORATEURS
Illustration
40 NATIONALITÉS
Illustration
3 500 MISSIONS POUR 1 250 SITES ÉTRANGERS
Illustration
5 000M2 DE LABORATOIRES
Illustration
50 000 VISITEURS PROFESSIONNELS / AN
Illustration
700 PARTENARIATS EN R&D

Ses principaux domaines d'activités d'Exploration/production

Illustration
GÉOSCIENCES
Illustration
FORAGE ET PUITS
Illustration
TECHNIQUES DE PRODUCTION
Illustration
RECHERCHE ET DÉVELOPPEMENT
Illustration
ÉTUDES ET SUPPORTS AUX FILIALES OPÉRATIONNELLES

TOTAL a lancé début janvier 2016 les travaux de construction
du centre de mesures physiques des roches à Artigueloutan

Total

Les travaux de construction du centre de mesures physiques sur des roches ont débuté sur le terrain acheté par Total et situé dans la commune d’Artigueloutan, faisant partie de la Communauté d’Agglomération Pau-Pyrénées.

La construction de ce centre a trois objectifs principaux
  ● Créer un outil de pointe permettant d’optimiser la fiabilité des données acquises dans les puits pétroliers et miniers et ainsi gagner en efficacité
  ● Réduire les coûts d’acquisition des données grâce à des protocoles de mesures rationalisés et des outils plus simples d’utilisation
  ● Offrir une formation pratique aux jeunes géologues et ingénieurs réservoir du groupe en complément de leur formation théorique

Par le choix de cette localisation, le groupe TOTAL favorise, dans le cadre de ses activités d’études, d’expertise, de recherches et de formation, l’émergence d’un tissu industriel de pointe et concurrentiel proche du Centre Scientifique et Technique pouvant répondre aux défis futurs de l’industrie pétrolière, minière et géotechnique. Il participe ainsi au renforcement de l’attractivité technologique et au développement de l’emploi qualifié en Béarn.

La Branche Exploration-Production du groupe TOTAL, implantée depuis le début des années cinquante en Béarn, continue ainsi à participer au développement des activités d’expertise Géosciences dans le cadre des études menées au Centre Scientifique et Technique Jean Féger de TOTAL, situé à Pau.