Invest in Pau

KEY SECTORS

Aeronautic, national defense and metalworking industry

Number 1 of the industrial sector in the South-West, aeronautics has been established since the beginning of the 20th century in this area. A unique ecosystem on an international scale, it brings together world-class order givers in the presence of a large network of subcontractors specializing in precision mechanics, metalworking industry or electronics.

01

The creation in Pau by the Wright brothers in 1909 of the first flying school in the world sparked the enthusiasm and development of the aeronautical industry.

Today, globally famous companies have settled in the region, helping to establish the aeronautical vocation of the Adour area. This is the case with Dassault-Aviation, Fouga-Potez, Safran helicopter engines (ex Turbomeca), Safran landing systems and Daher-Socata.

The aeronautics influence is important in Pau and Béarn. It constitutes the first sector of the territory In the wake of these leaders, little by little has formed a major centre of subcontracting : precision mechanics, metalworking industry or electronics, making the Pyrénées-Atlantiques a major player in the Aerospace Valley, in the immediate vicinity of the poles of world reference in Bordeaux and Toulouse.

Accompanied by specialized training institutes, this ecosystem has infrastructures and technology transfer centres allowing it to remain in constant evolution.

choose aeronautics safran2 0 | Invest in Pau

Aeronautics, the 1st economic sector of Béarn in full growth.

2% growth worldwide in 2017

More than 7,000 jobs in Béarn

120 companies in aeronautics in Béarn

28% of salaried jobs in Béarn

Many actors, implantation sites and competitiveness poles are now active in Béarn to promote the Aeronautics and National defence sector.

Aeropolis
choose aeronautics logo aeropolis 0 | Invest in Pau

Aeropolis provides the aeronautical sector with business spaces, multi-tenant facilities (inter-company restaurant, business hotel and business crib) and a training centre for industry and aerospace trades. Aeropolis hosts the headquarters and main manufacturing site of Safran helicopter engines (formerly Turbomeca), the world leader in the design, manufacture and support of helicopter turbines. More than 2500 employees work on the site.
The main strengths of the Aeropolis site are a strong intellectual and scientific environment, developed road, railway and airport networks, high quality natural spaces.

Aérosite
logo air py 0 | Invest in Pau

Area of activity born in 2005 in Uzein, the aerosite is directly connected to the slopes of the airport Pau-Pyrénées. Designed to host economic activities in connection with airport infrastructures, it is surrounded by a multitude of companies representing 4 000 jobs around : Aeronautics (AD industries, MAP, CGTM, USINECA, SEDEMECA), logistics ( SDV logistics, Dachser France, partn air, Henry Johnson Co Ltd) and electronics (Aquitaine Electronique).
The site was chosen by the aeronautical subcontractor Aeroprotect, specialised in surface treatment, to install its new production plant.
The track also receives significant military traffic due to the presence of the School of Airborne Troops. A Helicopter Regiment Combat (5th RHC), is based South of the runway as well as the 4th Regiment of Special Forces Helicopters (4th RHFS). All of these military formations represent approximately 80 Gazelle, Puma, Cougar and especially Tiger helicopters with a maintenance center.

Aerospace Valley
aerospace valley logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Created in 2005, the Aerospace Valley global competitiveness cluster combines the regions of new Aquitaine and Occitania, thus constituting the first European employment pool in the fields of Aeronautics, space and embedded systems. Its ambition is to grow jobs on its territory in these areas. It benefits from an industrial fabric specializing in technological fields of notoriety : materials (carbon fibres, composites metallurgy, nanomaterials), turbines, landing gear, mechanics, metrology… The Aerospace Valley has 8 strategic business areas :

  • Aerostructures, Materials and Processes
  • Energy and Electromechanical Systems
  • Factory, Support / MCO / MRO and Remodeling
  • Man System Interactions
  • Telecommunications, Observation, Positioning
  • Modeling, Simulation, Data Analysis
  • Embedded Systems, Connected Objects, Software and Electronics
  • Solutions for Air Transport

Some figures : 130,000 jobs, 1,500 institutions, 8,500 researchers, 2 ENAC and ISAE high schools

Aéro Adour

A local aerospace showcase, this salon brings together professionals, enthusiasts and students as well. It takes place every 2 years at the Pau-Pyrénées airport. Learn more about the latest edition of the show.

ADS Show Bordeaux

An event under the sign of military operations, it offers operational, technical and commercial meetings, promoting the sharing of experiences and the transfer of technology.

02

National Defense is a key sector in Béarn.

In Pau there is the School of Airborne Troops (ETAP), which is mainly responsible for the individual and collective training, technical and tactical of the paratroopers, cadres or military of the rank of the three armies and the police force. She also participates in studies and experiments in paratroopers and is positioned as guarantor of the safety of paratrooper activities. These courses represent 4000 trainees per year divided into 40 training actions for about 44000 jumps. In addition, ETAP is expanding its international reach by sending teams of trainers to the requesting countries and receiving secondments.

choose aerospace photo army 0 | Invest in Pau

The largest helicopter base for military and special forces operations is in Pau Béarn Pyrénées.

Important military base with
5,000 soldiers

Pau airport welcomes
20,000 military aircraft

03

Metalworking industry covers a broad spectrum of companies ranging from aeronautics to automobiles.

On the Adour area this sector represents 782 companies for more than 19 724 employees (53% industrial jobs). We find mainly mid-sized companies and SMEs with less than 50 employees.

Technology transfer and resource centre, Metallicadour conducts innovation and industrial development programmes around three main themes : metal machining, robotic operations and Assembly by FSW and other MIG, CMT, TIG techniques. Located in the heart of the Adour industrial area, its ambition is twofold : to enable SMEs and MidCaps to have shared technological means and technical support to lift technological locks and improve their competitiveness.

This multi-tenant platform structure, in connection with Compositadour, the local technological needs within collaborative projects involving also research laboratories in order to preserve and develop the local historical skills.

choose aerospace lab 0 | Invest in Pau

Regional Plan 2020, the factory of the future.

Opening of the Metallicadour platform in 2015

1200 m2 of premises equipped with high technology

The Union of metalworking industries and trades and the training center of technological industries offer several training devices adapted to the needs of the industry. The training center is located in Aeropolis in the municipalities of Bordes and Assat.

Industry Center Training

The industry training centre offers young people aged 16 to 25 and to all audiences, including those with disabilities, an apprenticeship contract for the industry : productics, boilermaking/welding, maintenance, Electrotechnics, engineering.
The means implemented are recent, efficient, and adapted to the requirements of the 300 partner companies. They enable the implementation of trainings that meet the expectations of companies and thus contribute to the rapid integration of apprentices.

  • 92% success
  • 85% of professional insertion
  • 560 apprentices
Industry and metalworking industry association

With 613 companies in the Pyrénées-Atlantiques and 169 in Bigorre, theUimm Adour (Union of industries and trades of the Adour metallurgy) represents a major sector on the Adour basin, with almost 20,000 jobs.

The training center of the technological industries also accompanies the employees of the industrial companies, but also the jobseekers in the development of their skills to the most just need of the company of tomorrow, taking into account the stages of assessment of the achievements, individualisation of the training courses and certification of the acquired competences.

Some figures : 450 client companies, 90 specialists, 4,000 trained trainees / year

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

SECTEURS CLÉS

Aéronautique, défense et métallurgie

Numéro 1 du secteur industriel sur le Sud-Ouest, l’aéronautique est implantée depuis le début du XXe siècle sur ce territoire. Ecosystème unique à échelle internationale, il regroupe des donneurs d’ordres de rang mondial en présence d’un maillage important de sous-traitants spécialisés en mécanique de précision, métallurgie ou électronique.

01

La création à Pau par les frères Wright en 1909 de la première école de pilotage au monde a suscité l’engouement et le développement de la filière aéronautique.

Des entreprises, aujourd’hui mondialement connues, se sont ainsi installées dans la région, contribuant à asseoir la vocation aéronautique du bassin de l’Adour. C’est le cas de Dassault-Aviation, de Fouga-Potez, de Safran Helicopter Engines (ex Turbomeca), Safran Landing Systems ou encore de Daher-Socata.

Le poids de l’aéronautique est important à Pau et en Béarn. Il constitue la première filière du territoire. Dans le sillage de ces leaders, s’est constitué peu à peu un important pôle de sous-traitances : mécanique de précision, métallurgie ou électronique, faisant des Pyrénées-Atlantiques un acteur majeur d’Aerospace Valley, à proximité immédiate des pôles de référence mondiale de Bordeaux et Toulouse.

Accompagné d’instituts spécialisés de formation, cet écosystème dispose d’infrastructures et de centres de transfert technologique lui permettant de rester en évolution constante.

choisir aeronautique safran2 0 | Invest in Pau

L’aéronautique, 1ère filière économique du Béarn en pleine croissance.

2% de croissance à l’échelle mondiale en 2017

Plus de 7 000 emplois en Béarn

120 entreprises dans l’aéronautique en Béarn

28% des emplois salariés en Béarn

De nombreux acteurs, sites d’implantation et pôles de compétitivité sont aujourd’hui actifs en Béarn pour promouvoir la filière aéronautique et la défense.

Aeropolis
choisir aeronautique logo aeropolis 0 | Invest in Pau

Aeropolis met à disposition du secteur aéronautique des espaces d’activités, des équipements mutualisés (restaurant inter-entreprises, hôtel d’entreprises et crèche d’entreprises) et un centre de formation aux métiers de l’industrie et de l’aéronautique. Aeropolis accueille le siège et le principal site de fabrication de Safran Helicopter Engines (ex Turbomeca), leader mondial dans la conception, la fabrication et le support de turbines pour hélicoptères. Plus de 2500 salariés travaillent sur le site.
Les principaux atouts du site Aeropolis sont un environnement intellectuel et scientifique fort, des réseaux routiers, ferrés et aéroportuaires développés, des espaces naturels de grande qualité.

Aérosite
logo air py 0 | Invest in Pau

Zone d’activité née en 2005 à Uzein, l’aérosite est directement relié aux pistes de l’aéroport Pau-Pyrénées. Destiné à accueillir des activités économiques en lien avec les infrastructures aéroportuaires, il est entouré d’une multitude d’entreprises représentant 4 000 emplois autour de : l’aéronautique (AD Industries, MAP, CGTM, USINECA, SEDEMECA), de la logistique (SDV Logistique, Dachser France, Partn Air, Henry Johnson Co Ltd) et de l’électronique (Aquitaine Electronique).
Le site a été choisi par le sous-traitant aéronautique palois Aéroprotect, spécialisé dans le traitement de surfaces, pour installer sa nouvelle usine de production.
La piste reçoit aussi un trafic militaire important du fait de la présence de l’Ecole des Troupes Aéroportées. Un Régiment d’Hélicoptères de Combat (5e RHC), est basé au sud de la piste ainsi que le 4e Régiment d’Hélicoptères des Forces Spéciales (4e RHFS). L’ensemble de ces formations militaires représente environ 80 hélicoptères de type Gazelle, Puma, Cougar et surtout des Tigres avec un centre de maintenance.

Aerospace Valley
aerospace valley logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Créé en 2005, le pôle de compétitivité mondial Aerospace Valley associe les régions Nouvelle-Aquitaine et Occitanie, constituant ainsi le premier bassin d’emplois européen dans les domaines de l’aéronautique, de l’espace et des systèmes embarqués. Son ambition est de faire croître les emplois sur son territoire dans ces domaines. Il bénéficie d’un tissu industriel spécialisé dans des domaines technologiques de notoriété : matériaux (fibres de carbone, composites métallurgie, nanomatériaux), turbines, trains d’atterrissage, mécanique, métrologie… L’Aerospace Valley dispose de 8 domaines d’activités stratégiques :

  • Aérostructures, Matériaux et Procédés
  • Energie et Systèmes Electromécaniques
  • Usine, Support/MCO/MRO et Réaménagement
  • Interactions Homme Système
  • Télécommunications, Observation, Positionnement
  • Modélisation, Simulation, Analyse des données
  • Systèmes Embarqués, Objets Connectés, Logiciels et Electronique
  • Solutions pour le Transport Aérien

Quelques chiffres : 130 000 emplois, 1 500 établissements, 8 500 chercheurs, 2 grandes écoles ENAC et ISAE

Salon Aéro Adour

Vitrine locale de l’aéronautique, ce salon réunit aussi bien les professionnels, les passionnés que les étudiants. Il a lieu tous les 2 ans sur l’aéroport de Pau-Pyrénées. En savoir plus sur la dernière édition du salon.

ADS Show Bordeaux

Evénement placé sous le signe des opérations militaires, il propose des rencontres opérationnelles, techniques et commerciales, favorisant le partage d’expériences et le transfert de technologies.

02

La défense est un secteur clé dans le Béarn.

A Pau se trouve l’école des troupes aéroportées (ETAP) qui est principalement, chargée de la formation individuelle et collective, technique et tactique des parachutistes, cadres ou militaires du rang des trois armées et de la gendarmerie. Elle participe également aux études et aux expérimentations parachutistes et se positionne en garante de la sécurité des activités parachutistes. Ces formations représentent 4000 stagiaires par an répartis en 40 actions de formation pour environ 44000 sauts. De plus, l’ETAP accentue son ouverture à l’international par l’envoi d’équipes de formateurs dans les pays demandeurs et la réception de détachements.

choisir aeronautique photo army 0 | Invest in Pau

La plus grande base d’hélicoptères pour les militaires et les opérations des forces spéciales se trouve à Pau Béarn Pyrénées.

Importante base militaire avec
5 000 soldats

L’aéroport de Pau accueille
20 000 avions militaires

03

La métallurgie couvre un large spectre d’entreprises allant de l’aéronautique à l’automobile.

Sur le bassin de l’Adour cette filière représente 782 entreprises pour plus de 19 724 salariés (soit 53% des emplois industriels). Nous retrouvons essentiellement des entreprises de taille intermédiaire et PME de moins de 50 salariés.

Centre de ressources et de transferts de technologies, Metallicadour conduit des programmes d’innovation et de développement industriel autour de trois thématiques principales : l’usinage des métaux, la robotisation d’opérations et l’assemblage par FSW et autres techniques MIG, CMT, TIG. Situé au cœur du bassin industriel de l’Adour, son ambition est double : permettre aux PME et ETI de disposer de moyens technologiques mutualisés et de supports techniques pour lever des verrous technologiques et améliorer leur compétitivité.

Cette plateforme mutualisée structure, en lien avec Compositadour, les besoins technologiques locaux au sein de projets collaboratifs impliquant aussi les laboratoires de recherche afin de préserver et développer les compétences locales historiques.

choisir aeronautique lab 0 | Invest in Pau

Plan régional 2020, l’usine du futur.

Ouverture de la plateforme Metallicadour en 2015

1200 m2 de locaux équipés de moyens de haute technologie

L’Union des Industries et Métiers de la Métallurgie et le Pôle Formation des Industries Technologiques proposent plusieurs dispositifs de formation adaptés aux besoins de l’industrie. Le centre de formation est situé à Aeropolis sur les communes de Bordes et Assat.

Centre de formation de l’industrie

Le centre de formation de l’industrie propose aux jeunes de 16 à 25 ans et à tout public, y compris en situation de handicap, un contrat d’apprentissage aux métiers de l’industrie : productique, chaudronnerie/soudage, maintenance, électrotechnique, ingénierie.
Les moyens mis en œuvre sont récents, performants, et adaptés aux exigences des 300 entreprises partenaires. Ils permettent la mise en œuvre de formations répondant aux attentes des entreprises et contribuent ainsi à une intégration rapide des apprentis.

  • 92% de réussite
  • 85% d’insertion professionnelle
  • 560 apprentis
L’Union des Industries et Métiers de la Métallurgie

Avec 613 entreprises dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques et 169 en Bigorre, l’UIMM Adour (Union des Industries et Métiers de la Métallurgie de l’Adour) représente un secteur majeur sur le bassin de l’Adour, avec donc près de 20.000 emplois.

Le pôle formation des industries technologiques accompagne également les salariés des entreprises industrielles, mais aussi les demandeurs d’emplois dans le développement de leurs compétences au plus juste besoin de l’entreprise de demain, prenant en compte les étapes d’évaluation des acquis, d’individualisation des parcours de formation et de certification des compétences acquises.

Quelques chiffres : 450 entreprises clientes, 90 spécialistes, 4 000 stagiaires formés / an

Invest in Pau