Invest in Pau

Key sectors

Agri-food

First European agricultural region, the department of Pyrénées-Atlantiques is the locomotive of the New Aquitaine region. Over time, the territory Pau Béarn Pyrenees has imposed a brand image promoting high quality and labeled products.

01

Béarn is a diversified agricultural land :

corn farming and breeding, dairy processing, viticulture, cattle-milk, cattle-meat, pork, foie gras and sheep farming. The agri-food sector, which today actively participates in the development of rural areas, is a provider of jobs while fully contributing to the renown of Béarn.

Animal sector

The cattle sectors are essential in the relations maintained by Béarn with the processing companies. The foie gras sector (IGP Duck with South West Foie Gras) and sheep-milk production are strongly established in the mountain and hillside areas. The latter allows the transformation of milk into AOC Ossau Iraty farm cheeses.
The pig industry, whose production is mainly carried out with IGP ham Bayonne is an essential asset.

choose agrifood logo igp 0 | Invest in Pau
choose agrifood logo aoc 0 | Invest in Pau
Corn production

Corn is the most commonly grown crop in the department, especially in the northern part. More than 6,000 producers are currently listed for about 103,000 ha. Corn production therefore weighs heavily and justifies the strong presence of agri-food companies.

Wine sector

Vineyards covers about 2500 ha in the department of Pyrénées-Atlantiques. Most of the production is done in sign of quality with three appellations : Jurançon, Madiran and Pacherenc. The development by the vine growers of steep territory, sometimes terraced, make this sector an important vector of image in connection with the development of tourism.

choose agri-food wheat field 0 | Invest in Pau

As a witness to this innovative sector, the bioenergy and biotechnology market is growing.

02

Innovation and leader companies

The Béarnaise agri-food industry is mainly characterized by the presence of structuring groups very well positioned at the national or even international level, such as the Euralis cooperative, Michaud Apiculteurs, Lindt, Candia, the Fromagerie des Chaumes and the Gan Jurançon cooperative cellar.

Alongside these large groups, Maison Miot, the canneries Le Vieux Chêne and Biraben or the Cassandrine House are positioned on innovative and/or organic products. These SMEs are developing and constitute an important weight in the local economy.

Agri Sud-Ouest Innovation

Since 2007, the Agri Sud-Ouest Innovation competitiveness cluster brings together companies, research and training centers and institutions. It offers to business leaders and researchers a unique process to identify, build, support and educate collaborative research and development projects.
Their organization revolves around 4 themes : networks, skills, projects and growth.
Their objective is simple : increase exchanges in the community and thus to generate new opportunities for innovation.

choisir agroalimentairelogo agri sud ouest 0 | Invest in Pau
03
wine fair logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Wine and Gastronomy Fair

For the ninth year in a row, the Morlaàs Tourist Office is organizing the Wine and Gastronomy Fair. Some sixty exhibitors present a wide selection of wines and spirits from the Béarn vineyards as well as regional regional products.

Simacourbe 2 0 | Invest in Pau

Art Crafts Wine and Gastronomy Fair Simacourbe

More than 90 exhibitors (creative artists and producers) valorize the terroir on the occasion of the 26th salon art crafts wine and gastronomy of Simacourbe : candied and foie gras, producers of pigeons, canned fish, hams and charcuterie artisanal, flowers and plants, honeys, pancakes, strawberry growers, picking at the property, pie, spit cakes, etc.

garbure 0 | Invest in Pau

The “Garburade”

The 27th World Garbure Championship takes place in September in Oloron-Sainte-Marie. The opportunity to discover the stands and teams who prepare and cook the garbure, a large local market, the songs Bearn and dances that accompany them…

salt festival 0 | Invest in Pau

Salt festival

“Heste de la Saü”, it is the Béarn name of the salt festival during which Salies-de-Béarn pays homage to the White Gold exploited 15 centuries before J.C and which made its fame.

fishing fest 1 0 | Invest in Pau

Fishing and salmon fest

Pentecost is the day for fishing ans salmon fest in Navarrenx. Indeed, every year during this period, the city gives pride of place to this king of our rivers. The organizers of the Navarrenx Salmon Fest are aimed at saving Gave d’Oloron. They are constantly fighting against “abusive” withdrawals downstream. This holiday is a good way to promote the image of salmon. The practice of “no kill”, it is the idea to transmit a sport fishing and pleasure that is put forward, but also to save the salmon in these rivers.

cow fest 2 0 | Invest in Pau

“La Blonde” cow fest

Sauveterre-de-Béarn celebrates his fetish animal which he is the cradle : “la Blonde d’Aquitaine” cow. This cow is the center of attention at this great party: exhibitions, markets, crafts, musical entertainment, etc., between tradition and folklore.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Secteurs clés

Agroalimentaire

Première région agricole européenne, le département des Pyrénées-Atlantiques est la locomotive de la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Au fil du temps, le territoire Pau Béarn Pyrénées a su imposer une image de marque valorisant des produits reconnus de grande qualité et labellisés.

01

Le Béarn est une terre à vocation agricole diversifiée :

culture du maïs et élevage, transformation laitière, viticulture, filières bovins-lait, bovins-viandes, porc, foie gras et élevage ovin. La filière agroalimentaire qui, aujourd’hui, participe activement au développement des zones rurales, est pourvoyeur d’emplois tout en contribuant pleinement à la renommée du Béarn.

Filières animales

Les filières bovines sont primordiales dans les relations entretenues par le Béarn avec les entreprises de transformation. La filière foie gras (IGP Canard à foie gras du Sud Ouest) et la production ovins-lait sont fortement implantées dans les zones de montagne et de coteaux. Cette dernière permet la transformation du lait en fromages fermiers AOC Ossau Iraty.
La filière porcine dont la production s’opère essentiellement avec l’IGP Jambon de Bayonne constitue un atout essentiel.

choisir agroalimentairelogo igp 0 | Invest in Pau
choisir agroalimentairelogo aoc 0 | Invest in Pau
La production de maïs

Le maïs est la production la plus fréquemment cultivée dans le département surtout dans la partie nord. Plus de 6000 producteurs sont recensés actuellement pour environ 103 000 ha. La production de maïs pèse donc un poids important et justifie la forte présence des entreprises agroalimentaires.

Filières viticoles

La vigne couvre environ 2 500 ha dans le département des Pyrénées-Atlantiques. L’essentiel de la production est réalisée sous signe de qualité avec trois Appellations d’Origine Contrôlées : Jurançon, Madiran et Pacherenc. La mise en valeur par les vignerons de terroirs escarpés, parfois aménagés en terrasses, font de cette filière un vecteur d’image important en lien avec le développement du tourisme.

choisir agroalimentairechamp de ble 0 | Invest in Pau

Témoin de cette filière innovante, le marché bioénergies et biotechnologies est en pleine croissance.

02

Innovation et entreprises leaders

L’industrie agroalimentaire béarnaise est majoritairement marquée par la présence de groupes structurants très bien positionnés à l’échelle nationale voire internationale comme la coopérative Euralis, Michaud Apiculteurs, Lindt, Candia, la Fromagerie des Chaumes et la Cave coopérative de Gan Jurançon.

Aux côtés de ces grands groupes, la Maison Miot, les conserveries Le Vieux Chêne et Biraben ou la maison Cassandrine se positionnent sur des produits innovants et/ou bio. Ces PME se développent et constituent un poids important dans l’économie locale.

Agri Sud-Ouest Innovation

Depuis 2007, le pôle de compétitivité Agri Sud-Ouest Innovation fédère les entreprises, les centres de recherche ou de formation et les institutions. Il offre aux chefs d’entreprises et aux chercheurs un processus unique pour identifier, construire, accompagner et faire instruire des projets collaboratifs de recherche et développement.
Leur organisation tourne autour de 4 thèmes : réseaux, compétences, projets et croissances.
Leur objectif est simple : accroître les échanges dans la communauté et ainsi générer de nouvelles opportunités d’innovation.

choisir agroalimentairelogo agri sud ouest 0 | Invest in Pau
03
salon du vin logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Salon du Vin et de la Gastronomie

Pour la neuvième année consécutive, l’Office de Tourisme du Pays de Morlaàs organise le Salon du Vin et de la Gastronomie. Une soixantaine d’exposants y présentent un large choix de vins et spiritueux issus du vignoble béarnais ainsi que des produits de terroir régionaux.

Simacourbe 2 0 | Invest in Pau

Salon Art Artisanat Vin et Gastronomie Simacourbe

Plus de 90 exposants (artistes créateurs et producteurs) valorisent le terroir à l’occasion du 26ème Salon Art Artisanat Vin et Gastronomie de Simacourbe : confits et foies gras, producteurs de pigeonneaux, conserves de poissons, jambons et charcuteries artisanales, fleurs et plantes, miels, crêpes, producteurs de fraises, cueillette à la propriété, tourtières, gâteaux à la broche, etc.

garbure 0 | Invest in Pau

La Garburade

Le 27ème championnat du monde de garbure a lieu au mois de septembre à Oloron-Sainte-Marie. L’occasion de découvrir des stands et des équipes qui préparent et cuisent la garbure, un grand marché du terroir, les chants béarnais et danses qui les accompagnent…

fete du sel 0 | Invest in Pau

La fête du sel

A Heste de la Saü, c’est le nom béarnais de la « Fête du Sel » pendant laquelle Salies-de-Béarn rend hommage à l’Or Blanc exploité 15 siècles avant J.C et qui a fait sa renommée.

fete de la peche 1 0 | Invest in Pau

La fête de la pêche et du saumon

Pentecôte rime avec la Fête du saumon à Navarrenx. En effet, tous les ans à cette période, la cité fait la part belle à ce roi de nos rivières. Les organisateurs de la Fête du Saumon de Navarrenx ont pour objectif la sauvegarde de gave d’Oloron. Ils luttent en permanence contre les prélèvements « abusif » en aval. Cette fête est un bon moyen de promouvoir l’image du saumon. Avec la pratique du « no kill », c’est l’idée de transmettre une pêche sportive et de plaisir qui est mise en avant, mais aussi de sauvegarder le saumon dans ces rivières.

fete de la blonde 2 0 | Invest in Pau

La fête de la Blonde

Sauveterre-de-Béarn célèbre son animal fétiche dont il est le berceau : la Blonde d’Aquitaine. Cette vache est au centre de toutes les attentions lors de cette grande fête : expositions, marchés, artisanat, animation musicale, etc., entre tradition et folklore.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.