Invest in Pau

Key sectors

Chemistry and materials

Located less than half an hour west of Pau, the industrial basin of Lacq was born in 1951 following the search for an oil field that will eventually become the largest gas deposit in Europe for half a century.

01

As a result of this historic gas extraction and marketing activity, new activities have emerged such as fine chemicals, bioenergy and composite materials.

The Lacq industrial basin has undergone a successful reconversion thanks to sustained, collective and anticipated actions before the cessation of commercial gas exploitation by Total. This reconversion of the industrial basin has also allowed the emergence of start-ups like Chemstart’up, which hosts start-ups in fine chemicals, new materials and green chemistry.

The Lacq basin ranks among the most important industrial centers of excellence in Europe, supported by research, development and innovation skills of large groups such as Total, Arkema, Toray CFE, Sobegi, Air Liquide, Yara, Chimex, Sanofi, Novasep, Vertex Bioenergy.

choose chemistry factory 0 | Invest in Pau

Chemistry and materials sector in Pau Béarn Pyrénées, 60 years of collective experience.

4 chemical platforms including 2 classified SEVESO II

40 leading industrial companies operating worldwide

8,000 jobs in the area

200 subcontracting and service companies in the territory

600 hectares of industrial activities

5 R&D centers

02

Ecosystem

Research association of Lacq (GRL)

GRL is a research organization founded in 1959 on the Lacq Mourenx platform. Specializing in the design and development of acrylic polymers, sulfur derivatives and adsorbents, GRL is one of the ten Arkema research centers in the world. He is also involved in the field of technical assistance.
The sharing and transmission of knowledge are important missions of GRL. They are embodied in particular through the partnership set up with the Chemstart’up platform, which brings together innovative young companies. GRL puts its know-how at their disposal and thus supports their development.

  • 30 patents filed per year
  • More than 60 years experience
  • More than 160 employees
  • P. Potier Award in 2012
choisir chimie logo arkema 0 | Invest in Pau
Lacq Advantage

The Lacq Advantage is a unique experience unique in France created by SOBEGI to support the installation of new industrial structures in the Lacq Orthez area. They offer implementation solutions in the heart of a Seveso environment of 224 hectares, support in their CSR approach, technical specificities for those who wish to develop new industrial processes and thus benefit from the benefits of pooling in terms of saving of investment and access to a powerful energy mix.

Chemparc and Chemstart’up

Chemparc was created in 2003 to support the revitalization and contribute to the economic development of the Lacq industrial area. Today, a dedicated team aims to detect new industrial projects with high added value and to support potential investors. Chemstart’up was born from a simple observation : there was no host structure in France for young chemistry companies. Today, this technological platform hosts specialized R&D structures in chemistry, new materials and the energy transition. It has three buildings dedicated to energy transition technologies carried by the CANOE technology transfer platform.

Advanced and composite material technologique center of New Aquitaine

CANOE cooperates with SMEs and major groups in the field of composite technologies and advanced materials. Created in 2008 at the initiative of the Regional Council of New Aquitaine, the platform is equipped with pilot resources for the production of prototypes and pre-series. It supports SMEs and large industrial groups in the development of new materials and innovative processes in the field of transport, energy and construction in particular.

03
logo industry week | Invest in Pau

Lacq Tour

The representatives of the National Education (faculty or administrators) are invited to participate in this study. The representatives of the National Education (teachers or administrators) are invited with their students and students to participate in this event to better discover the sectors, the specific trades that recruit locally.

logo industry week | Invest in Pau

“Carrefour des métiers”

This crossroads of professions organized by the association Lacq Plus allows each year a highlight of trades represented on the Lacq basin to young students in full academic and/or vocational orientation, a privileged exchange with professionals, students, but also the promotion of the Lacq economic basin.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Secteurs clés

Chimie et matériaux

Situé à moins d’une demi-heure à l’ouest de Pau, le bassin industriel de Lacq a vu le jour en 1951 suite à la recherche d’un gisement de pétrole qui deviendra finalement le gisement de gaz le plus important d’Europe pendant un demi-siècle.

01

Consécutivement à cette activité historique d’extraction et de commercialisation du gaz, de nouvelles activités ont émergé comme la chimie fine, les bioénergies et les matériaux composites.

Le bassin industriel de Lacq a connu une reconversion réussie grâce à des actions soutenues, collectives et anticipées avant l’arrêt de l’exploitation du gaz à titre commercial par Total. Cette reconversion du bassin industriel a permis aussi l’émergence de jeunes entreprises comme Chemstart’up qui accueille les start-up de la chimie fine, des nouveaux matériaux et de la chimie verte.

Le bassin de Lacq se classe parmi les pôles industriels d’excellence les plus importants d’Europe, soutenu par des compétences en recherche, développement et innovation de grands groupes comme Total, Arkema, Toray CFE, Sobegi, Air Liquide, Yara, Chimex, Sanofi, Novasep, Vertex Bioenergy.

choisir chimie factory 0 | Invest in Pau

Filière chimie et matériaux à Pau Béarn Pyrénées, 60 ans d’expériences collectives.

4 plateformes chimiques dont 2 classées SEVESO II

40 industriels leaders opérant au niveau mondial

8 000 emplois sur le Bassin

200 entreprises de sous-traitance et de service sur le territoire

600 hectares d’activités industrielles

5 centres de R&D

02

Ecosystème

Groupement de Recherche de Lacq (GRL)

Le GRL est une structure de recherche fondée en 1959 sur la plateforme de Lacq Mourenx. Spécialisé dans la conception et le développement de polymères acryliques, de dérivés du soufre et de produits adsorbants, le GRL est l’un des dix centres de recherche Arkema dans le monde. Il intervient également dans le domaine de l’assistance technique.
Le partage et la transmission des connaissances sont des missions importantes du GRL. Elles s’incarnent notamment à travers le partenariat mis en place avec la plateforme Chemstart’up qui regroupe de jeunes sociétés innovantes. Le GRL met son savoir-faire à leur disposition et accompagne ainsi leur développement.

  • 30 brevets déposés par an
  • Plus de 60 ans d’expérience
  • Plus de 160 salariés
  • Prix P. Potier en 2012
choisir chimie logo arkema 0 | Invest in Pau
Lacq Advantage

The Lacq Advantage est une expérience unique sans équivalent en France créée par SOBEGI pour accompagner l’installation de nouvelles structures industrielles sur le territoire de Lacq Orthez. Ils proposent des solutions d’implantation au cœur d’un environnement Seveso de 224 hectares, un soutien dans leur démarche RSE, des spécificités techniques pour ceux qui souhaitent développer de nouveaux procédés industriels et donc de bénéficier des avantages de la mutualisation en terme d’économie d’investissement et d’accès à un mix énergétique performant.

Chemparc et Chemstart’up

Chemparc a vu le jour en 2003 afin d’accompagner la revitalisation et de contribuer au développement économique du bassin industriel de Lacq. Aujourd’hui, une équipe dédiée a pour objectif de détecter de nouveaux projets industriels à forte valeur ajoutée et d’accompagner les investisseurs potentiels. Chemstart’up est né d’un constat simple : il n’existait pas en France de structure d’accueil pour les jeunes entreprises de chimie. Aujourd’hui, cette plateforme technologique accueille des structures de R&D spécialisées dans la chimie, les nouveaux matériaux et la transition énergétique. Elle dispose notamment de trois bâtiments consacrés aux technologies de la transition énergétique portées par la plateforme de transfert technologique CANOE.

Le Centre Technologique Nouvelle Aquitaine des Composites et des Matériaux Avancés

CANOE coopère avec des PME et des grands groupes dans le domaine des technologies composites et matériaux avancés. Créée en 2008 à l’initiative du Conseil régional de Nouvelle-Aquitaine, la plateforme est équipée de moyens pilotes pour la réalisation de prototypes et préséries. Elle accompagne les PME et les grands groupes industriels dans le développement de nouveaux matériaux et de procédés innovants dans le domaine des transports, de l’énergie et de la construction notamment.

03
logo semaine de l industrie | Invest in Pau

Lacq Tour

Cette manifestation annuelle organisée depuis 2011, gratuite et ouverte au grand public, a pour but de faire mieux connaître l’industrie et les métiers du bassin industriel de Lacq. Les représentants de l’Education nationale (professeurs ou administrateurs) sont invités avec leurs étudiants et élèves à participer à cet événement afin de mieux découvrir les filières, les métiers spécifiques qui recrutent localement.

logo semaine de l industrie | Invest in Pau

Carrefour des métiers

Ce carrefour des métiers organisé par l’association Lacq Plus permet chaque année une mise en lumière des métiers représentés sur le bassin de Lacq à des jeunes élèves en pleine orientation scolaire et/ou professionnelle, un échange privilégié avec des professionnels, les élèves, mais aussi la promotion du bassin économique de Lacq.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.