Invest in Pau

Key sectors

Geosciences and energy

Geosciences and energy are key areas for the region, unique in France by the richness of their industrial fabric and the importance of R&D. They cumulate more than 6000 direct jobs, 60 companies and research laboratories, and are mainly located in Pau and Lacq.

01

Béarn, natural land of geosciences

For a long time, the exploitation of the béarnais subsoil for economic purposes has known its hours of glory, notably thanks to the extraction of gas on the site of Lacq 25 km from Pau. This has made Béarn a land of choice for Geoscience companies, mainly working internationally.

Technopole Helioparc Building Lavoisier 0 | Invest in Pau

A space dedicated to Geosciences is made available within the Technopole Hélioparc in Pau.

The Geoscience sector brings together an international community of several thousand indispensable actors : geologists, geophysicists, tank engineers, trainers, researchers and students of Earth Sciences.

The important network of companies benefits from a unique ecosystem in Europe : research and technology transfer centres, simulators, public and private training establishments (Ecole Française de drilling of international renown).

Proof of the importance of this sector in the Department, Pau Béarn Pyrénées receives every year about fifty delegations in search of research and innovation.

Pole Avenia
choose geosciences logo poleavenia 300x79 0 | Invest in Pau

The only French competitiveness centre in the geosciences, it brings together more than 150 members (large groups, ETI and SMEs, R & D and training organisations) in the energy and environmental sectors.

Géostart

A unique incubator/nursery in geosciences in France, it provides young entrepreneurs with multidisciplinary assistance (marketing, finance, legal, technological and human) to facilitate the creation of a company.

Isifor

Institute for the sustainable engineering of fossil resources (Institut Carnot) brings together partners located in the greater South-West (Pau, Toulouse, Bordeaux). All the units represent more than 500 researchers and teachers-researchers including 250 doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.

EAGE

This paloise antenna aims to link the EAGE members based on Pau (Geophysicists, geologists, geomecanicians, field engineers) through scientific events such as expert presentations, technical workshops, trainings, field trips around the theme of Geosciences.

Evolen

Grouping of companies and professionals of hydrocarbons and related energies, it represents a network of nearly 1350 members, 250 companies and 1100 professionals whose expertise covers the whole field of the hydrocarbon sector (exploration, production, development, logistics, refining, distribution).

Club export Oil&Gas

This structure allows to bring together the actors of the Geoscience sector to share their experiences but especially to carry out collective actions of development of activities in foreign markets.

Geoscopie

Geoscopy is the only platform of economic intelligence for Geosciences. It is above all an advanced technology monitoring tool that centralizes patent data, scientific publications, collaborative projects and Geoscience news.

Its objective is to accompany companies, including SMEs, training institutions, research organisations and laboratories, and more generally, the partners of the competitiveness cluster.

02

Territory energy sector

The energy on the territory comprises activities and sectors as diverse as hydropower carried mainly by EDF hydraulics Adour and gave, biofuels and biogas with vertex bioenergy, the battery sector with IPREM, the transport and storage of gas with Teromega, or solar energy with total and its SunPower chain.

Vertex Bioenergy

Vertex bioenergy is the leading producer of bioethanol in Spain and France. The company develops transport biofuels and manufactures chemical products obtained from renewable resources using environmentally friendly technologies. He is one of the Bioenergy leaders. Its implementation in Southwest is a reference on the Induslacq site.

logo vertex 0 | Invest in Pau
EDF

EDF, the first hydro-electric producer in France, has been established in the region under the name EDF hydraulics Adour and gaves. Today, 36 hydroelectric power plants and 19 dams produce the equivalent of the annual consumption of 520 000 inhabitants, while preserving the environment and respecting other uses of water: support of flows in summer period for irrigation, water level management during Canoe-Kayak competitions, preservation and knowledge of protected species in partnership with the bird protection League (LPO), the Pyrenees National Park (PNP).

Teré9ga

Terega, a major player in gas transport and storage infrastructures, in France and Europe, has also chosen to establish its headquarters in Pau. Determined to make gas an accelerator of the energy transition, the region offered them a privileged location, strategically at the crossroads of major European gas flows, enabling them to ensure security of supply and contribute to energy development in Europe.

SunPower

SunPower’s innovation took off thanks to solar impulse II, which broke all world records by turning around the world without a drop of fuel. Today, SunPower total, manufacturer of solar panels, a subsidiary since April 2011 of total, has also made a place in the region : headquarters in Pau, solar photovoltaic plant in Lacq.

building Center 0 | Invest in Pau

On the research and training side, Pau Béarn Pyrénées is not in rest and welcomes many major specialized schools.

IPREM (Institute of analytical sciences and physico-chemistry for environment and materials) is a joint CNRS/UPPA research unit.

It comprises more than 200 people who are interested in the development of fundamental knowledge in Physico-Chemistry, analytical chemistry and microbiology, in relation to applications concerning the structure of living, environmental management and the functional properties of different classes of materials.
ENSGTI (the National School of industrial technology engineering), which is linked to the University of Pau and the pays de L’adour (UPPA), forms in 3 years high level scientific and technical engineers in “process engineering” and “energetics”.

03
choose geosciences logo in the center of the earth 0 | Invest in Pau

24h of innovation in the center of the Earth

The international business Convention GeoEnergy days is organized by the POLE AVENIA. It brings together actors from the different subsoil sectors and offers ideas for innovative projects and services, attending technical conferences and workshops, exchanging skills and needs, participating in planned appointments, develop its professional network, establish French or international partnerships and visit pioneer companies in the sector.

hydromeeting logo | Invest in Pau

Hydromeeting

The hydromeeting gathers every two years, many actors of the SHEM (Société hydro-Electricité du MIDI) sector of EDF and organizes business meetings around the development of hydropower technologies in the Pyrenees to export them worldwide. Nearly 400 hydro-electric actors were present at the Hydromeeting 2018 organized by the CCI of the Adour basin, demonstrating the dynamism of the region.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Secteurs clés

Géosciences et énergie

Les géosciences et l’énergie sont des secteurs clés pour la région, uniques en France par la richesse de leur tissu industriel et l’importance de la R&D. Ils cumulent à eux seuls plus de 6000 emplois directs, 60 entreprises et laboratoires de recherche, et sont implantés principalement à Pau et Lacq.

01

Le Béarn, terre naturelle des géosciences

Pendant longtemps, l’exploitation du sous-sol béarnais à des fins économiques a connu ses heures de gloire, notamment grâce à l’extraction de gaz sur le site de Lacq à 25 km de Pau. Cela a fait du Béarn une terre de prédilection pour les entreprises des géosciences, travaillant majoritairement à l’international.

Technopole Helioparc Immeuble Lavoisier 0 | Invest in Pau

Un espace dédié aux géosciences est mis à disposition au sein de la Technopole Hélioparc à Pau.

La filière géoscience regroupe une communauté internationale de plusieurs milliers d’acteurs incontournables : géologues, géophysiciens, ingénieurs réservoir, formateurs, chercheurs et étudiants des sciences de la Terre.

L’important réseau d’entreprises bénéficie d’un écosystème unique en Europe : centres de recherche et de transfert technologique, simulateurs, établissements publics et privés de formation (Ecole Française de Forage de renommée internationale).

Preuve de l’importance de cette filière dans le département, Pau Béarn Pyrénées reçoit tous les ans une cinquantaine de délégations en quête de recherche et d’innovation.

Pole Avenia
choisir geosciences logo poleavenia 300x79 0 | Invest in Pau

Unique pôle de compétitivité français dans les géosciences, il regroupe plus de 150 adhérents (grands groupes, ETI et PME, organismes de R&D et de formation) dans les secteurs de l’énergie et de l’environnement.

Géostart

Unique incubateur/pépinière dans les géosciences en France, il met à la disposition de jeunes entrepreneurs une assistance pluridisciplinaire (marketing, finance, juridique, technologique et humaine) chargée de faciliter la création d’une entreprise.

Isifor

Institute for the Sustainable engineering of Fossil Resources (Institut Carnot) rassemble des partenaires situés dans le grand Sud-Ouest (Pau, Toulouse, Bordeaux). L’ensemble des unités représente plus de 500 chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs dont 250 doctorants et post-doctorants.

EAGE

Cette antenne paloise a pour but de relier les membres EAGE basés sur Pau (géophysiciens, géologues, géomécaniciens, ingénieurs gisement) au travers d’événements scientifiques tels que des présentations d’experts, des ateliers techniques, des formations, des sorties sur le terrain autour du thème des géosciences.

Evolen

Groupement des entreprises et des professionnels des hydrocarbures et des énergies connexes, il représente un réseau de près de 1350 adhérents, 250 sociétés et 1100 professionnels dont l’expertise couvre tout le champ de la filière hydrocarbures (exploration, production, développement, logistique, raffinage, distribution).

Club export Oil&Gas

Cette structure permet de réunir les acteurs de la filière géosciences pour partager leurs expériences mais surtout pour mener des actions collectives de développement d’activités sur des marchés étrangers.

Geoscopie

Geoscopie est la seule plateforme d’intelligence économique pour les géosciences. C’est avant tout un outil de veille technologique avancée qui centralise les données brevets, publications scientifiques, projets collaboratifs et actualités sur les géosciences.

Son objectif est d’accompagner les entreprises, notamment les PME, les établissements de formation, les organismes et laboratoires de recherche, et plus généralement, les partenaires du pôle de compétitivité.

02

La filière énergie sur le territoire

L’énergie sur le territoire regroupe des activités et des secteurs aussi divers que l’hydroélectricité porté principalement par EDF Hydraulique Adour et Gave, les biocarburants et biogaz avec Vertex Bioénergie, le secteur des batteries avec l’IPREM, le transport et le stockage du gaz avec Teréga, ou l’énergie solaire avec Total et sa filière Sunpower.

Vertex Bioenergy

Vertex Bioenergy est le premier producteur de bioéthanol en Espagne et en France. L’entreprise développe des biocarburants de transport et fabrique des produits chimiques obtenus à partir de ressources renouvelables en utilisant des technologies respectueuses de l’environnement. C’est un des leaders en Bioénergie. Son implantation dans Sud-Ouest est une référence sur le site d’Induslacq.

logo vertex 0 | Invest in Pau
EDF

EDF, 1er producteur en hydroélectricité en France, s’est implanté dans la région sous l’appellation EDF Hydraulique Adour et Gaves. Aujourd’hui, 36 centrales hydroélectriques et 19 barrages produisent l’équivalent de la consommation annuelle de 520 000 habitants, tout en préservant l’environnement et en respectant les autres usages de l’eau : soutien des débits en période estivale pour l’irrigation, gestion des niveaux d’eau lors des compétitions de canoë-kayak, préservation et connaissance des espèces protégées en partenariat avec la Ligue de Protection des Oiseaux (LPO), le Parc National des Pyrénées (PNP).

Teréga

Teréga, acteur majeur des infrastructures de transport et de stockage de gaz, en France et en Europe, a choisi lui aussi d’implanter son siège social à Pau. Déterminée à faire du gaz un accélérateur de la transition énergétique, la région leur offrait un emplacement privilégié, stratégique au carrefour des grands flux gaziers européens, leur permettant d’assurer une sécurité d’approvisionnement et de contribuer au développement de l’énergie en Europe.

SunPower

L’innovation de SunPower a pris son envol grâce à l’avion solaire Solar Impulse II​ qui a battu tous les records mondiaux en faisant le tour du monde sans une goutte de combustible. Aujourd’hui, Sunpower Total, fabricant des panneaux solaires, filiale depuis avril 2011 de Total, s’est lui aussi fait une place dans la région: siège social à Pau, centrale solaire photovoltaïque à Lacq.

building center 0 | Invest in Pau

Côté Recherche et Formation, Pau Béarn Pyrénées n’est pas en reste et accueille de nombreuses grandes écoles spécialisées.

l’IPREM (Institut des Sciences Analytiques et de Physico-Chimie pour l’Environnement et les Matériaux) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche CNRS / UPPA.

Il regroupe plus de 200 personnes qui s’intéressent au développement de connaissances fondamentales en physico-chimie, chimie analytique et microbiologie, en relation avec des applications concernant la structure du vivant, la gestion de l’environnement et les propriétés fonctionnelles de différentes classes de matériaux.
ENSGTI (L’École Nationale Supérieure en Génie des Technologies Industrielles) rattachée à l’Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour (UPPA) forme en 3 ans des ingénieurs de haut niveau scientifique et technique en «Génie des procédés» et en «Energétique».

03
choisir geosciences logo au centre de la terre 0 | Invest in Pau

24h de l’innovation au centre de la Terre

La convention d’affaires internationale GeoEnergy Days est organisée par le POLE AVENIA. Elle rassemble les acteurs des différentes filières du sous-sol et propose des idées de projets et services innovants, d’assister à des conférences et ateliers techniques, d’échanger sur les compétences et besoins, de participer à des rendez-vous planifiés, de développer son réseau professionnel, de nouer des partenariats français ou internationaux et de visiter des entreprises pionnières du secteur.

hydromeeting logo | Invest in Pau

Hydromeeting

L’hydromeeting rassemble tous les deux ans, de nombreux acteurs de la filière SHEM (Société Hydro-Electrique du Midi) d’EDF et organise des rencontres d’affaires autour du développement des technologies de hydroélectricité dans les Pyrénées pour les exporter dans le monde entier. Près de 400 acteurs de l’hydroélectricité étaient présents à l’Hydromeeting 2018 organisé par les CCI du bassin de l’Adour, preuve du dynamisme de la région.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.