Invest in Pau

KEY SECTORS

Sport

The Béarn is known for its involvement in many sporting disciplines, it has known over time to equip itself with numerous infrastructures and several high-level sports clubs, but also of companies of innovations and specialized industries. The sporting tradition has developed in the region since the 19th century. Today, this commitment has been rewarded in 2018 by the label “European City of Sport”.

01

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, a sporty land

The Paloise agglomeration allocates more than 9 of its budget to sports policy. The Canoe-Kayak base, the racing circuit, the golf course but also the training centres for Rugby and horseback riding, the Sports Palace for basketball and the Hippodrome are part of the many sporting facilities that make Pau a flagship unique in Aquitaine.

choose sport pau european city 0 | Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, European City of Sport in 2018.

Land of sport and cradle of many international sportsmen, the Béarn is a nursery without any other similar. These exceptional Ambassadors continue to value the richness of our territory.

02

Sports et innovation

While sports in Béarn benefit from facilities that meet their ambitions, their history and their attractiveness, the region has also been able to develop innovative companies in sport, promoting, developing and supporting startups like Kiwami, Sportech 37 and companies like Flex-on.

Flex-on
choose sport logo flex on 300x62 0 | Invest in Pau

Flex-it offers unique ergonomic calipers that have already seduced the greatest riders such as Camille Conde Ferreira, European champion 2015 of obstacle jumping competitions, or Karim Laghouag, Olympic team champion at the games of Rio in 2016. Most of the parts are made in the area and the Assembly is done in Morlaàs. Flex-today there are about ten employees and radiates far beyond the Béarn. Number two worldwide in its field, the small company Béarnaise have about 200 resellers throughout France and its products are exported in 40 different countries.

Sportech 37
Sportech37 logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Sportech 37, a company specializing in sport at the international level, whose implementation was promoted by invest in Pau and ITC, develops video-arbitration sports solutions using Robotics and artificial intelligence (AI) for training and competitions. Sportech 37 aims to dethrone foreign service providers and become the official provider of paloise origin for video-refereeing, starting with the Paris Olympic Games in 2024.

Kiwami
kiwami logo | Invest in Pau

Kiwami, a company based in Montardon that manufactures and exports a wide range of Triathlon and trail running outfits, has been able to stand out against the giants of sportswear by its ability to innovate and renew. In Béarn, they make reference outfits, like “three in one”, water repellent and waterproof for swimming, flexible for cycling, anti-perspirant for racing. They quickly positioned themselves as an innovative leader in the sector.

choose rugby sport 0 | Invest in Pau

Many sports clubs and disciplines are present in Pau Béarn Pyrenees.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées main sports and clubs.

Rugby & Section Paloise
logo section 0 | Invest in Pau

The section paloise, Rugby Union Club created in 1902, evolving into top XIV, is the city’s flagship Club. It is considered to be a locomotive for the entire béarnais rugby. If the Green and the white worn by the Paloise section make the city vibrate every weekend, the values conveyed by this game are much more widespread for its inhabitants.

Basketball & Elan Béarnais
elan bearnais logo 0 | Invest in Pau

After reigned on French basketball for a decade, the ELAN Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez was rebuilt in Pro B. Back in Pro A among the elite, the Club now intends to stay there and vibrates its supporters at the Palais des sports (mythical room of 7600 places which celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2016).

Horse & Bé9arn

Béarn has always been a breeding ground for horses. From the early nineteenth century, Pau was nicknamed “the horse’s capital” and the romance of love lasted. The Haras de Gelos was created by Napoleon in 1808 and the first races took place in 1842. The tradition has been perpetuated and the equine sector is now about a thousand jobs. The so-horses alliances cluster comprises SMEs, training organisations, research laboratories and institutions with the aim of creating synergies and supporting R & D projects. The Hippodrome and its training center of Pau-Sers is a unique pole in France for the dish and the obstacle. It houses about fifteen coaches and nearly 600 horses a year. The equine sector on the Béarn drains nearly a thousand jobs divided between the actors who evolve, near or far, around the horse, all sectors of activity combined.

The equine sector comprises all the economic actors whose activity, near or far, is related to the horse: livestock, tourism, training, culture, health, agriculture, etc. To support the economic development of this sector, the CCI Pau Béarn hosts the regional cluster SO-horse-alliances.

Basque pelota

Basque pelota, a sport of rare intensity, requires strength, skill and agility. Its followers benefit from exceptional equipment for its practice. The agglomeration is equipped with a jaï alaï, a unique equipment in the world, it gathers all the playgrounds necessary for the 23 specialties of the ball, 14 of which are recognized at the inter-national level. This ultra-modern complex which has undergone the consecration in 2010, hosting the 26th Basque ball World Championships, today hosts all the Basque ball sports (Cesta Punta, chisterra, ball…).

Golf & Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Pau Golf Club 1856 is the oldest golf course on the European continent. The first indices of the practice of this sport go well beyond the Foundation in 1856 of the PGC. The Heritage Hall still testifies to this rich past which attracts the whole region and many golfers between the Basque coast, the Béarn and the Pyrenees.

Fencing & Section Paloise

The Royal City is a stronghold of fencing in France with the Organization of many French Championships in different categories, but also by the success of these teams. Over the past six seasons, the Palois have accumulated three titles and three silver medals in a sabre team.

03
race pau logo | Invest in Pau

« Grand Prix » racing

The Grand Prix de Pau takes its place in the world of motor racing as an appointment not to be missed, to which many champions participate. Pau is the second city after Monaco to have a race circuit in the city centre. For 9 days, car enthusiasts and visitors can enjoy the activities and the event.

the 5 stars of pau logo | Invest in Pau

International Competition and International Driving Competition

The 4-star Pau, the only 4-star event in France, is part of a world circuit of only 6 stages. The Domaine de Sers, venue of the event, hosts about 40 000 visitors in October for cross-country events and 350 volunteers. Since 2015, the international 4-horse hitch competition has been associated during the same week in the full competition. The global elite of the two disciplines meet in Pau Pyrenees.

winter meeting flyer | Invest in Pau

Winter Meeting

The winter meetings held each year in the Béarn between December and February welcome more than 1 000 horses from all over France (PMU, steeple-Chase, Gallop) on 27 days of races. Many animations are offered to discover or rediscover horse racing in flat and in obstacle to the general public.

the tour de france logo | Invest in Pau

The tour de France

At the foot of the Pyrenees and its mythical passes, Pau is one of the most favoured cities of the Grande Boucle. The city of Pau has been hosting the tour de France since 1947 and for the first time in its history, an individual timepiece will compete on eight communes of the community of agglomeration Pau Béarn Pyrénées on July 19, 2019 next.

world Cup icf | Invest in Pau

Canoe Kayak Championship

The Aquasports water Park Stadium in Pau, inaugurated in 2009 by a World Cup round, is recognized as one of the most successful. It is unanimous in its natural setting on the edge of the gave de Pau, its aesthetics, the General vision it offers to the public, the technical difficulties it offers. The whitewater Stadium has already organized the Canoe-Kayak slalom World Cup four times : 2009, 2012, 2015 and 2016. From 29 May to 2 June 2019, the European Canoe-Kayak slalom championships take place on this stage of the agglomeration.

choose sport logo terega 0 | Invest in Pau

Teréga Open Pau Pyrénées Tennis

The Palais des sports de Pau hosts the 1st Edition of the Teromega open Pau Pyrénées de tennis, from 25 February to 3 March 2019. Ideally placed at the heart of the European tour behind the ATP 250 tournaments in Montpellier and Marseille, Pau is part of the calendar as an indispensable event for world tennis.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

SECTEURS CLÉS

Sport

Le Béarn est reconnu pour son implication dans de nombreuses disciplines sportives, il a su au fil du temps se doter de nombreuses infrastructures et de plusieurs clubs de sports de haut niveau, mais aussi d’entreprises d’innovations et d’industries spécialisées. La tradition du sport s’est développée sur la région dès le XIXème siècle. Aujourd’hui, cet engagement a été récompensé en 2018 par le label «Ville Européenne du Sport».

01

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, une terre sportive

L’agglomération Paloise alloue plus de 9% de son budget à la politique sportive. La base de canoë-kayak, le circuit de course automobile, le golf mais aussi les centres d’entraînement pour le rugby et l’équitation, le Palais des sports pour le basket et l’hippodrome font partis des nombreuses installations sportives qui font de Pau un fleuron unique en Aquitaine.

choisir sport pau ville europeene 0 | Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, Ville Européenne du Sport en 2018.

Terre de sport et berceau de nombreux sportifs internationaux, le Béarn est une pépinière sans nulle autre pareil. Ces ambassadeurs d’exception continuent de valoriser la richesse de notre territoire.

02

Sports et innovation

Si les sports en Béarn bénéficient d’installations à la hauteur de leurs ambitions, de leur histoire, de leur attractivité, la région a également su se doter d’entreprises innovantes dans le sport, en promouvant, développant et soutenant des start-up comme Kiwami, Sportech 37 et des entreprises comme Flex-on.

Flex-on
choisir sport logo flex on 300x62 0 | Invest in Pau

Flex-on propose des étriers ergonomiques uniques en leur genre qui ont déjà séduit les plus grands cavaliers comme Camille Conde Ferreira, championne d’Europe 2015 de concours de sauts d’obstacles, ou encore Karim Laghouag, champion olympique par équipe aux Jeux de Rio en 2016. La plupart des pièces sont fabriquées dans la région et l’assemblage se fait à Morlaàs. Flex-on compte aujourd’hui une dizaine d’employés et rayonne bien au-delà du Béarn. Numéro deux mondial dans son domaine, la petite entreprise béarnaise comptent environ 200 revendeurs dans toute la France et ses produits sont exportés dans 40 pays différents.

Sportech 37
Sportech37 logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Sportech 37, entreprise spécialisée dans le sport au niveau international, dont l’implantation a été favorisée par Invest In Pau et la CCI, développe des solutions de vidéo-arbitrage sportif en utilisant la robotique et l’intelligence artificielle (IA) pour les entraînements et les compétitions. Sportech 37 a pour ambition de détrôner les prestataires étrangers et devenir le prestataire officiel d’origine paloise pour le vidéo-arbitrage en commençant par les Jeux Olympiques de Paris en 2024.

Kiwami
kiwami logo | Invest in Pau

Kiwami, société installée à Montardon qui fabrique et exporte dans le monde une large gamme de tenues de triathlon et de trail running, a su parfaitement se démarquer face aux géants du sportswear par sa capacité d’innovation et de renouvellement. En Béarn, ils fabriquent des tenues de référence, du genre “trois en un”, déperlantes et hydrofuges pour la natation, souples pour le cyclisme, anti-transpirantes pour la course. Ils se sont rapidement positionnés comme leader innovant du secteur.

choisir sport rugby 0 | Invest in Pau

De nombreuses disciplines et clubs sportifs sont présents à Pau Béarn Pyrénées.

Les principaux sports et clubs de Pau Béarn Pyrénées.

Le rugby & la Section Paloise
logo section 0 | Invest in Pau

La Section paloise, club de rugby à XV créé en 1902, évoluant en Top XIV, est le club phare de la ville. Il est considéré comme une locomotive pour l’ensemble du rugby béarnais. Si le vert et le blanc portés par la Section Paloise font vibrer la ville chaque week-end, les valeurs véhiculées par ce jeu fédèrent bien plus largement ses habitants.

Le basket & l’Elan Béarnais
elan bearnais logo 0 | Invest in Pau

Après avoir régné sur le basket français durant une décennie, l’Elan Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez s’est reconstruit en Pro B. De retour en Pro A parmi l’élite, le club entend désormais y rester et fait vibrer ses supporters au Palais des Sports (salle mythique de 7600 places qui a fêté ses 25 ans en 2016).

Le cheval & le Béarn

De tout temps, le Béarn a été une terre d’élevage de chevaux. Dès le début du XIXe siècle, Pau est surnommé “capitale du cheval” et le roman d’amour perdure. Le Haras de Gelos a été créé par Napoléon en 1808 et les premières courses ont eu lieu en 1842. La tradition s’est perpétuée et la filière équine draine désormais près d’un millier d’emplois. Le Cluster So-Horses Alliances regroupe des PME, des organismes de formation, des laboratoires de recherche et des institutionnels dans le but de créer des synergies et d’accompagner les projets de R&D. L’hippodrome et son centre d’entraînement de Pau-Sers est un pôle unique en France pour le plat et l’obstacle. Il héberge une quinzaine d’entraîneurs et près de 600 chevaux à l’année. La filière équine sur le Béarn draine près d’un millier d’emplois répartis entre les acteurs qui évoluent, de près ou de loin, autour du cheval, tous secteurs d’activité confondus.

La filière équine regroupe l’ensemble des acteurs économique dont l’activité, de près ou de loin, est liée au cheval : élevage, tourisme, formations, culture, santé, agriculture, etc. Pour soutenir le développement économique de ce secteur, la CCI Pau Béarn anime le cluster régional SO-Horse-Alliances.

La pelote basque

La pelote basque, sport d’une rare intensité, exige force, adresse et agilité. Ses adeptes bénéficient d’un équipement exceptionnel pour sa pratique. L’agglomération est équipée d’un Jaï Alaï, équipement unique au monde, il réunit toutes les aires de jeux nécessaires aux 23 spécialités de la pelote dont 14 sont reconnues au niveau inter- national. Ce complexe ultra moderne qui a connu la consécration en 2010, en accueillant les 26èmes championnats du monde de pelote basque, accueille aujourd’hui l’ensemble des sports de balles basques (Cesta Punta, Chisterra, Pelote…).

Les golfs & Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Le Pau Golf Club 1856 est le plus ancien golf du continent européen. Les premiers indices de la pratique de ce sport remontent bien au-delà de la fondation en 1856 du PGC. La salle du patrimoine témoigne encore aujourd’hui de ce riche passé qui attire toute la région et de nombreux golfeurs entre la côte Basque, le Béarn et les Pyrénées.

L’escrime & la section Paloise

La cité royale est une place forte de l’escrime en France avec notamment l’organisation de nombreux championnats de France sur différentes catégories, mais aussi par la réussite de ces équipes. Ces six dernières saisons, les Palois cumulent trois titres et trois médailles d’argent en équipe au sabre.

03
grand prix de pau logo | Invest in Pau

Le « Grand Prix » course automobile

Le grand Prix de Pau reprend sa place dans le monde des courses automobiles comme un rendez-vous à ne pas manquer, auquel de nombreux champions participent. Pau est la seconde ville après Monaco à disposer d’un circuit de course en centre-ville. Pendant 9 jours, passionnés de voitures et visiteurs peuvent profiter des d’activités et de cette manifestation.

les 5 etoiles de pau logo | Invest in Pau

Concours complet international et Concours international d’attelage

Les 4 étoiles de Pau, unique événement 4 étoiles en France, font partie d’un circuit mondial de seulement 6 étapes. Le Domaine de Sers, lieu de l’événement, accueille environ 40 000 visiteurs en octobre pour les épreuves de cross et 350 bénévoles. Depuis 2015, le concours international d’attelage à 4 chevaux est associé durant la même semaine au concours complet. L’élite mondiale des deux disciplines se donne rendez-vous à Pau Pyrénées.

meeting d hiver affiche | Invest in Pau

Meeting d’hiver

Les Meetings d’hiver organisés chaque année dans le Béarn entre décembre et février accueillent plus de 1 000 chevaux venus de toute le France (PMU, steeple-chase, galop) sur 27 journées de courses. De nombreuses animations sont proposées pour faire découvrir ou redécouvrir les courses de chevaux en plat et en obstacle au grand public.

le tour de france logo | Invest in Pau

Le tour de France

Au pied des Pyrénées et de ses cols mythiques, Pau est l’une des villes-étapes de prédilection de la Grande Boucle. La ville de Pau accueille le Tour de France depuis 1947 et pour la première fois de son histoire, un contre-la-montre individuel se disputera sur huit communes de la Communauté d’agglomération Pau Béarn Pyrénées le 19 juillet 2019 prochain.

coupe du monde icf | Invest in Pau

Championnat Canoë Kayak

Le stade d’Eaux Vives Parc Aquasports à Pau, inauguré en 2009 par une manche de Coupe du Monde, est reconnu comme l’un des plus réussis. Il fait l’unanimité par son cadre naturel en bordure du Gave de Pau, son esthétisme, la vision générale qu’il offre au public, les difficultés techniques qu’il propose. Le stade d’eaux-vives a déjà organisé la Coupe du monde de canoë-kayak slalom à quatre reprises : 2009, 2012, 2015 et 2016. Du 29 mai au 2 juin 2019, les championnats d’Europe de canoë-kayak slalom se déroulent sur ce stade de l’agglomération.

choisir sport logo terega 0 | Invest in Pau

Teréga Open Pau Pyrénées Tennis

Le Palais des sports de Pau accueille la 1ère édition du Teréga Open Pau Pyrénées de tennis, du 25 février au 3 mars 2019. Idéalement placé au cœur de la tournée européenne derrière les tournois ATP 250 de Montpellier et Marseille, Pau s’inscrit dans le calendrier comme un rendez-vous incontournable du tennis mondial.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.