Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, land of culture

The favourite king of the French would undoubtedly have loved what became of his city, today a must-have cultural destination of the greater Southwest.

From Béarnais Carnivals to summer festivals, street or modern dances to classical music, village theatres at the zenith de Pau, ideas that lead the world to the polar fair, enthusiastic theatre troupes at exhibition venues atypical, museums, gardens, castles to visit, the territory abounds with various cultural events, appointments that follow all year round for the pleasure of residents and tourists.

live culture Hestivoc traditional sport 0 | Invest in Pau

The events follow each other and are not similar to Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Cultural venues open to all

Orchestra of Pau

Already existing at the end of the 19th century, the Pau orchestra has been conducted by Fayçal Karoui since January 2002. It then takes the name of Pau-Pays de Béarn Orchestra (OPPB). This training shows new ambitions brought about by the desire to disseminate classical music and to inspire the desire of the concert. Associated with the OPPB, the prestigious Pau Béarn Pyrénées Conservatory with departmental influence, gathers 1200 musicians, dancers and comedians, students in apprenticeship or professors confirmed and renowned.

Theatre of Pau and Espace Pluriels scene

The Théâtre de Pau and the Espace Pluriels scene each year offer an original and varied programming, presenting renowned artists as new resident artists. In Jurançon a new auditorium : the Atelier du Neez, is the newest cultural center.

Zénith

In 1981, Jack Lang, then Minister of culture, decided to design a large capacity room adapted to rock and popular music. From this beautiful idea will be born the Zenith of Paris to Vilette in 1984. The name “Zenith” then becomes a trademark and the use of this term is subject to compliance with specifications. Eight years later will be inaugurated the 4th Zénith de France and the first of Aquitaine in Pau with its 7500 places. Its rich and varied programming allows the greatest number of people to come and attend large national shows next to their home…

Museum of Beaux-Arts

The Museum of Fine Arts of Pau occupies a building of the 30s with sober lines. The variety and quality of its collection place it among the great museums of Aquitaine. Founded in 1864 at the initiative of the society of friends of the arts, it has in fact gradually enriched works from the nineteenth century, so works by Edgar Degas and Berthe Morisot rub shoulders with older masterpieces of Flemish, Dutch schools, Italian, Spanish and French (El Greco, Rubens, Piazzetta,…).

Bel Ordinaire

Dedicated to contemporary art, the Bel ordinary disseminates creations to all audiences and throughout the agglomeration. In Nay, the Minauterie regularly exhibits contemporary artists from the region. Maison Carré also participates in the diffusion of contemporary art to schools and the general public.

Major cultural events

Ideas lead the world

Launched in 2014, the literary encounters “ideas lead the world” gather for three days in November, the greatest thinkers, writers, philosophers, artists, journalists and researchers.

Hestiv’oc

The Hestiv’oc Festival brings together nearly 200 artists from all over Occitania and the other side of the Pyrenees (Basque country, Navarre, Catalonia, Aragon). Music, fanfare, polyphony, theatre, dance, gastronomy, Hestiv’Òc is the expression of a whole culture that is allowed to create, to transmit and to share! After 14 editions, the festival brings together nearly 30,000 people for 3 days. The event is labeled “Festivals of the summer” by the Region of New Aquitaine.

Summer in Pau

The city of Pau hosts each year its traditional music festival “Summer in Pau”. This festival was born in the 1970s. At that time it was a lively show of folk dancers and artists from the city or neighborhood. At present, it is worn by the association “Friends of the Popular Song”. The programs are based on the expectations and tastes of the public, with the participation of renowned and foreign artists.

From July to September, Méliès Cinema proposes to spend “Summer in the cinema”. Several movies are scheduled under the stars for a wide audience. The films proposed for the outdoors are chosen taking into account both the tastes and expectations of a large audience but also the constraints related to their distribution.

The Biarnés Carnival, one of the five largest carnivals in metropolitan France, has been in existence for 30 years. It is made every year in Pau and its festivities are spread over several days.

Musical transhumance of Laàs

The village of Laàs en Béarn, during the weekend of Ascension, has been hosting the Transhumances musical festival for over twenty years. Renowned national and international artists come to meet their audiences for a concert in the Castle Park located along the banks of the gave D’oloron. It is also an opportunity to discover in the castel one of the finest collections of decorative arts in Aquitaine : Aubusson tapestries, paintings by Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun, Breughel, Rubens, Fragonard but also porcelain, earthenware and furniture.

Urban session

Created in 2000, urban session is a privileged moment for all dance enthusiasts who can confront the best of the French hip-hop creation. This dance festival and urban cultures is the only one of this scale in Aquitaine. It is a family and convivial moment, which is not reserved to the insiders only. It is organized by the MJC of Flowers.

Carnival of Pau

Carnaval Biarnés, one of the five largest carnivals in metropolitan France, has been in existence for 30 years. It is done every year in Pau and its festivities are spread over several days. 50 000 people and 500 musicians come from the four corners of L’occitanie and elsewhere to participate in this popular festival in the heart of winter, a free party and open to all.

Rives & Notes festival

The Rives & Notes Festival is a contemporary jazz music festival that takes place in the early summer of Oloron. It is characterized by richness and openness. From the first Festival in 1981, the greatest French musicians and some of the greatest names in world Jazz have been produced. Heir to this already long history, the current team claims the musical quality, the territorial anchorage and the accessibility to all. Jazz à Oloron is to integrate them in its numerous initiatives (concerts in partnership, actions in the direction of the school, support of the local and regional jazz scene, AIDS to young formations, radio broadcasts,…).

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, terre de culture

Le roi préféré des français aurait sans aucun doute adoré ce qu’est devenue sa ville, aujourd’hui destination culturelle incontournable du grand Sud-Ouest.

Des Carnavals béarnais aux festivals d’Eté, des danses de rue ou modernes à la musique classique, des salles de spectacle de villages au Zénith de Pau, des idées qui mènent le monde au salon du polar, des troupes de théâtres enthousiastes aux lieux d’exposition atypiques, des musées, des jardins, des châteaux à visiter, le territoire abonde de manifestations culturelles variées, de rendez-vous qui se suivent toute l’année pour le plaisir des résidents et des touristes.

vivre culture Hestivoc sport traditionnel 0 | Invest in Pau

Les événements se suivent et ne se ressemblent pas à Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Des lieux culturels ouverts à tous

L’orchestre de Pau

Déjà existant à la fin du XIXe siècle, l’orchestre de Pau est dirigé par Fayçal Karoui depuis janvier 2002. Il prend alors le nom de Orchestre de Pau-Pays de Béarn (OPPB). Cette formation affiche de nouvelles ambitions portées par la volonté de diffuser la musique classique et de susciter chez chacun l’envie du concert. Associée à l’OPPB, le prestigieux Conservatoire Pau Béarn Pyrénées au rayonnement départemental, regroupe 1200 musiciens, danseurs et comédiens, élèves en apprentissage ou professeurs confirmés et réputés.

Le Théâtre de Pau et la scène Espaces Pluriels

Le Théâtre de Pau et la scène Espaces Pluriels proposent chaque année une programmation originale et variée, présentant des artistes de renom comme de nouveaux artistes résidents. A Jurançon une nouvelle salle de spectacle : l’Atelier du Neez, est le plus récent pôle culturel.

Le Zénith

En 1981, Jack Lang, alors ministre de la Culture décide de concevoir une salle de grande capacité adaptée au rock et aux musiques populaires. De cette belle idée naîtra le Zénith de Paris à La Vilette en 1984. Le nom « Zénith » devient alors une marque déposée et l’utilisation de ce terme est soumise au respect d’un cahier des charges. Huit ans plus tard sera inauguré le 4ème Zénith de France et le premier d’Aquitaine à Pau avec ses 7500 places. Sa programmation riche et variée permet au plus grand nombre de venir assister à de grands spectacles nationaux à côté de chez eux…

Le Musée des Beaux-Arts

Le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Pau occupe un bâtiment des années 30 aux lignes sobres. La variété et la qualité de sa collection le placent parmi les grands musées aquitains. Fondé en 1864 à l’initiative de la Société des Amis des Arts, il s’est en effet enrichi progressivement d’oeuvres du XIXème siècle, ainsi des oeuvres d’Edgar Degas et de Berthe Morisot côtoient des chefs d’œuvres plus anciens des écoles flamandes, hollandaises, italiennes, espagnoles et françaises (El Greco, Rubens, Piazzetta,…).

Le Bel Ordinaire

Dédié à l’art contemporain, le Bel Ordinaire diffuse des créations auprès de tous les publics et sur l’ensemble de l’agglomération. A Nay, la Minauterie expose régulièrement des artistes contemporains de la région. La Maison Carré participe également à la diffusion de l’art contemporain auprès des scolaires comme du grand public.

Les événements culturels majeurs

Les idées mènent le monde

Lancées en 2014, les rencontres littéraires « Les idées mènent le monde » rassemblent durant trois jours au mois de novembre, les plus grands penseurs, écrivains, philosophes, artistes, journalistes et chercheurs.

Hestiv’oc

Le festival Hestiv’oc réunit près de 200 artistes originaires de toute l’Occitanie et de l’autre versant des Pyrénées (Pays Basque, Navarre, Catalogne, Aragon). Musique, fanfare, polyphonie, théâtre, danse, gastronomie, Hestiv’Òc est l’expression de toute une culture qui s’autorise à créer, à se transmettre et qui se partage ! Après 14 éditions, le festival réunit près de 30 000 personnes pendant 3 jours. L’événement est labellisé « Festivals de l’été» par la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

L’été à Pau

La ville de Pau accueille chaque année son traditionnel festival de musique « L’Été à Pau ». Ce festival a vu le jour dans les années 1970. À cette époque, c’était un spectacle animé de danseurs folkloriques et d’artistes de la ville ou du quartier. À l’heure actuelle, il est porté par l’association « Les Amis de la Chanson Populaire ». Les programmes sont établis en fonction des attentes et des goûts du public, avec la participation d’artistes de renom et étrangers.

De juillet à septembre, Le cinéma Méliès propose de passer «Un été au ciné». Plusieurs films sont programmés à la belle étoile pour un large public. Les films proposés pour le plein air sont choisis en tenant à la fois compte des goûts et attentes d’un large public mais également des contraintes liées à leur distribution.

Le Carnaval Biarnés, un des cinq plus grands carnavals de France métropolitaine, existe depuis 30 ans. Il se fait tous les ans à Pau et ses festivités s’étalent sur plusieurs jours.

Les transhumances musicales de Laàs

Le village de Laàs en Béarn, lors du week-end de l’Ascension, accueille depuis plus de vingt ans le festival des Transhumances Musicales. Des artistes de renommées nationales et internationales viennent à la rencontre de leur public pour un concert dans le parc du château situé le long des berges du gave d’Oloron. C’est aussi l’occasion de découvrir dans le château l’une des plus belles collections d’arts décoratifs d’Aquitaine : tapisseries d’Aubusson, tableaux d’Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun, Breughel, Rubens, Fragonard mais aussi des porcelaines, faïences et mobiliers.

Urban session

Créé en 2000, Urban Session est un moment privilégié pour tous les amateurs de danse qui peuvent se confronter au meilleur de la création Hip-Hop française. Ce festival de danse et des cultures urbaines est le seul de cette envergure en Aquitaine. C’est un moment familial et convivial, qui n’est pas réservé aux seuls initiés. Il est organisé par la MJC des Fleurs.

Le carnaval de Pau

Le Carnaval Biarnés, un des cinq plus grands carnavals de France métropolitaine, existe depuis 30 ans. Il se fait tous les ans à Pau et ses festivités s’étalent sur plusieurs jours. 50 000 personnes et 500 musiciens viennent des quatre coins de l’Occitanie et d’ailleurs pour participer à cette fête populaire au cœur de l’hiver, une fête gratuite et ouverte à tous.

Le festival Des Rives & Des Notes

Le festival Des Rives & Des Notes est un festival de musique de jazz contemporain qui se déroule au début de l’été à Oloron. Il est caractérisé par la richesse et l’ouverture. Dès le premier festival en 1981, les plus grands musiciens français et certains des plus grands noms du jazz mondial s’y sont produits. Héritière de cette déjà longue histoire, l’équipe actuelle revendique la qualité musicale, l’ancrage territorial et l’accessibilité à tous. Jazz à Oloron veille à les intégrer dans ses nombreuses initiatives (concerts en partenariat, actions en direction des scolaires, soutien de la scène jazz locale et régionale, aides à de jeunes formations, émissions de radio, …).

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.