Invest in Pau

Pau, a historic city

Pau, second city of Aquitaine, capital of Béarn since 1464, is a royal city where was born the “good” King Henry in 1553. Parliamentarian, English, cosmopolitan, contemporary, splendid terrace on the Pyrénées, Pau is all that at once.

live castle history 0 | Invest in Pau

The Béarn a historically independent state.

live proud story to be Béarnais 0 | Invest in Pau

The name of Béarn comes from Benearnum, small territory which brought together the cities of Lescar and Morlaàs at the time Roman. In the middle of the 11th century, the Viscounts spread this territory to the regions of Oloron, Montaner, then Orthez. In two centuries (11th and 12th centuries), Béarn becomes an important country where villages develop around their castles, as in Pau. Very quickly, the Béarn becomes a viscount, owning its own currency, its own laws, the Fors and its coat of arms composed of two cows.

Gaston Fébus, will reign on Béarn and the country of Foix and proclaim the independence of Béarn in 1347 with respect to the King of France and the King of England. He ensures his neutrality during the 100 years war. In the 14th century, the state of Béarn will be one of the few in Europe not to know war, famine or plague.

Pau Pyrenees across the ages

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and its castle

The city of Pau and its castle is needed in the sixteenth century becoming the seat of the kings of Navarre. Pau becomes a center of political and intellectual foreground under the reign of Henri d’Albret and his wife Marguerite.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and its rois

The history of Pau is durably marked by the birth of their grandson, Henri de Bourbon, on December 13, 1553 in their castle. He reached the throne of France in 1589 under the title of Henri IV. The image of the city has since been largely associated with that of this Monarch made famous for his willingness to end the endless wars of religion. Another famous Pau, Jean-Baptiste Bernadotte, who became Marshal of the Empire and then King of Sweden and Norway from 1818 to his death in 1844, was born in the seventeenth century. His birthplace has become a museum. If we go back a few centuries, Gaston Fébus nicknamed “the lion of the Pyrenees” accesses the head of the current Pyrénées-Atlantiques in the mid-14th century. He imprints the history of Béarn with his military actions, politics, castles and literary work. Gaston III would have taken the name of “Fébus” because of its physical beauty evoking a Greek god.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and its international community

The 1st golf of the European continent is created in 1856.
The international community practices hunting, meets at the English circle and attends horse races at the long bridge. It was at this same time that Pau became one of the world capitals of emerging Aeronautics under the influence of the Wright brothers, in 1909 the crowned heads then pressed to observe the flights of the first flying school organized in the world.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and its industry

With the end of resort tourism during the twentieth century, the paloise economy — and that of its agglomeration — gradually shifted to the aeronautics industry and then to the petrochemicals sector with the major discovery of the Lacq gas deposit in 1951.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, architecture and history

Today, the Pau heritage spans several centuries, its diversity and quality have earned it the label of city of art and history in 2011.
In Béarn des gaves, life is organized around four cities, Navarrenx, Orthez, Salies-de-Béarn and Sauveterre-de-Béarn which each possess an important architectural and historical identity. The Béarn des Gaves is rich with monuments that reflect the struggles of power and the high personalities that constituted it.

The Bearnese Pyrénées have a wide variety of heritage, pastoral buildings with shepherds ‘ huts, lintels doors or the Cathedral of Oloron Sainte-Marie, the typical mountain villages or the Fort of portalet.

We must stroll to Oloron Sainte-Marie, this historic city, in the episcopal city, the medieval village or Notre-Dame district. Jewel of the city, the cathedral is classified World Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, cradle of democracy

Béarn reinvented modern democracy between the 11th and 14th centuries. At the time the “Fors”, legislation written in Béarnais, organized the equality between the nobles and the villagers in order to attract new inhabitants by giving them many advantages.


Villagers could elect a community council that defined political, economic regulations by organising trade, pastoral and agricultural life. These Fors limited the powers of the viscount and the lords-all men were equal in law-and guaranteed a minimum of individual rights : no prison without judgement, and protection in public places, the annulment of the salic law for Women (inheritance and access to the Throne). These first laws of Béarn made this territory a forerunner in matters of justice and democracy.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Pau, une ville historique

Pau, deuxième ville d’Aquitaine, capitale du Béarn depuis 1464, est une ville royale où est né le «bon» roi Henri en 1553. Parlementaire, anglaise, cosmopolite, contemporaine, splendide terrasse sur les Pyrénées, Pau c’est tout cela à la fois.

vivre histoire chateau 0 | Invest in Pau

Le Béarn un état historiquement indépendant.

vivre histoire fier d etre bearnais 0 | Invest in Pau

Le nom de Béarn vient de Benearnum, petit territoire qui regroupait les villes de Lescar et Morlaàs à l’époque romaine. Au milieu du 11e siècle, les vicomtes étendent ce territoire aux régions d’Oloron, de Montaner, puis d’Orthez. En deux siècles (11e et 12e siècles), le Béarn devient un pays important où des villages se développent autour de leurs châteaux, comme à Pau. Très vite, le Béarn devient une vicomté, possédant sa monnaie, ses propres lois, les Fors et son blason composé de deux vaches.

Gaston Fébus, va régner sur le Béarn et le pays de Foix et proclamer l’indépendance du Béarn en 1347 vis à vis du Roi de France puis du Roi d’Angleterre. Il assure alors sa neutralité durant la guerre de 100 ans. Au 14e siècle, l’état de Béarn sera un des seuls d’Europe à ne pas connaître la guerre, la famine ou la peste.

Pau Pyrénées tout au long de l’histoire

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et son château

La ville de Pau et son château s’impose au XVIe siècle en devenant le siège des rois de Navarre. Pau devient de ce fait un centre politique et intellectuel de premier plan sous le règne d’Henri d’Albret et de son épouse Marguerite.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et ses rois

L’histoire de Pau est durablement marquée par la naissance de leur petit-fils, Henri de Bourbon, le 13 décembre 1553 dans leur château. Il accède au trône de France en 1589 sous le titre d’Henri IV. L’image de la cité est depuis largement associée à celle de ce monarque rendu célèbre pour sa volonté d’en finir avec les interminables guerres de religion. C’est au cours de ce même XVIIe siècle que naît un autre palois célèbre, Jean-Baptiste Bernadotte qui devint maréchal d’Empire puis roi de Suède et de Norvège de 1818 à sa mort en 1844. Sa maison natale est devenue un musée. Si l’on remonte quelques siècles en arrière, Gaston Fébus surnommé « Le Lion des Pyrénées » accède à la tête de l’actuel Pyrénées-Atlantiques au milieu du XIVème siècle. Il marque de son empreinte l’histoire du Béarn avec ses actions militaires, politiques, ses châteaux et son œuvre littéraire. Gaston III aurait prit le nom de « Fébus » à cause de sa beauté physique évoquant un dieu grec.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et la communauté internationale

Le 1er golf du continent Européen est créé en 1856.
La communauté internationale pratique la chasse à courre, se rencontre au cercle anglais et assiste aux courses de chevaux au Pont Long. C’est à cette même période que Pau devient l’une des capitales mondiales de l’aéronautique naissante sous l’influence des frères Wright, en 1909 les têtes couronnées s’y pressent alors pour observer les vols de la première école de pilotage organisée au monde.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et l’industrie

Avec la fin du tourisme de villégiature au cours du XXe siècle, l’économie paloise — et celle de son agglomération — s’est peu à peu orientée vers l’industrie aéronautique puis vers celle de la pétrochimie avec la découverte majeure du gisement de gaz de Lacq en 1951.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, l’architecture et l’histoire

Aujourd’hui, le patrimoine palois s’étale sur plusieurs siècles, sa diversité et sa qualité lui ont valu l’obtention du label de Ville d’art et d’histoire en 2011.
En Béarn des Gaves, la vie s’organise autour de quatre cités, Navarrenx, Orthez, Salies-de-Béarn et Sauveterre-de-Béarn qui possèdent chacune une identité architecturale et historique importantes. Le Béarn des Gaves est riche de monuments qui traduisent les luttes de pouvoir et les hautes personnalités qui l’ont constitué.

Les Pyrénées béarnaises recèlent une grande variété de patrimoine, bâti pastoral avec ses cabanes de bergers, portes à linteaux ou encore la cathédrale d’Oloron Sainte-Marie, les villages typiques montagnards ou le Fort du Portalet.

Il faut flâner à Oloron Sainte-Marie, cette ville historique, dans la cité épiscopal, le bourg médiéval ou le quartier Notre-Dame. Joyau de la ville, la cathédrale est classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO.

Pau Béarn Pyrénées, berceau de la démocratie

Le Béarn a réinventé la démocratie moderne entre le XIe et le XIVe siècle. A l’époque les « Fors », des textes législatifs écrits en Béarnais, organisaient l’égalité entre les nobles et les villageois dans le but d’attirer de nouveaux habitants en leur octroyant de nombreux avantages.


Les villageois pouvaient élire eux-mêmes un conseil de communauté qui définissait les règlements politiques, économiques en organisant le commerce, la vie pastorale et agricole. Ces Fors limitaient les pouvoirs du vicomte et des seigneurs – tous les hommes étaient égaux en droit – et garantissaient un minimum de droits individuels : pas de prison sans jugement, et une protection dans les lieux publics, l’annulation de la loi salique pour les femmes (héritage et accès au trône). Ces premières lois béarnaises firent de ce territoire un précurseur en matière de justice et de démocratie.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.