Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Land of adventure and nature

To live the sport, the nature, the relaxation and the new experiences, the Béarn is an ideal playground. This Green and generous territory offers a wide range of activities and sensations : from the top of the mountains to the center of the cities, from the hike to the practice of a collective sport in the Hall, from the bottom of the Valley of Ossau to the wooded parks of the heart of Pau, water activities at water centres and balneotherapy centres…

01

The main color of the territory of Pau Béarn Pyrénées is undoubtedly the green.

Whether it is the color of the lawns of Parc Beaumont, like that of the National Park of the Pyrenees, the hillsides of the Jurançon or the Aspe Valley, the farmland and the gardens of the cities, while Béarn is green. Even Pau, the city of “vert-Galant”, is the city of France with the most green spaces per capita!

Pau, capital city of garden

Pau displays 330 hectares of municipal green space. If we add the national domains of the forest of bastard (291 hectares) of the Park of the Castle (19 hectares) of the wood of the hospital and the Park of the University, we arrive at 650 hectares. Taking into account the number of inhabitants, each Palois has 81 m2 of green spaces.

Beaumont park

Originally, this park belonged to the family of Countess Anna de Noailles. In 1898, Henri Martinet, a landscape architect, redesigned it in an English style. From its aisles that converge to the bandstand at its Lake in the Bald Cypress, the Beaumont Park is home to beautiful trees for many centenaries : always green Redwood from California, Cedars from the Himalayas, Araucarias from Argentina and Chile, Judea trees, horse chestnut from the Balkans, magnolias. Bucolic, the pyrenian garden recalls the mountain, its rocks, its perennias, its streams. Nearby, on the south slope, the Théâtre de verdure hosts shows in the summer.

National Parck of des Pyrénées in Ossau

The Park covers an area of ​​8000 ha in the upper Ossau Valley. In the commune of Laruns, from the South of Gabas to the Spanish border, from the Ayous pass to the Lake of Artouste, it manages and protects the natural environment and all its biodiversity (wildlife, flora, landscapes, sites…). It welcomes and informs the public in its House of the Park and offers numerous activities and events in season.

Verna

Discovered in 1953, in the heart of the limestone mountains of Haute-Soule and the Barétous, between pays-Basque and Béarn, the cave is an exceptional geological site, with volumes out of the ordinary. The gigantic room of La Verna, designed to be visited since 2010, is the largest in the world, it is ten times larger than our Lady of Paris. After the visit of the Hall, a long staircase carved into the rock and the scree allows access to the Weir of the river and to have a panoramic view on the chasm of the Pierre Saint-Martin and on the gallery by which the first explorers arrived.

Bétharram caves

The Betharram caves are among the most beautiful in Europe. They are located in two departments : it is entered by the Pyrénées-Atlantiques and is evident by the Hautes-Pyrénées. They are visited by boat and by train : the visited part extending over 2.8 km with an impressive elevation of 80 m and the underground course of the river covers 3.5 km. The visitor enters the mountain through a natural orifice, enjoys vast halls rich in concretions, discovers the abyss that connects them to the River following a natural flaw, witness the work of the water, then comes out by an artificial tunnel dug from 1913 to 1924.

Vulture cliff

The original museographic space is located at the foot of the cliffs of Aste-Béon in the Ossau Valley. Thanks to the cameras placed near the nests, it is possible to observe live the wild vultures and the Egyptian vulture of Egypt, in their nests, from the hatching to the first flight of the young, from the feeding of the small to the flight training. A pedagogical and playful course with 12 rooms on 372m² allows the discovery of life in the mountains, this territory shared by shepherds and Raptors…

Vert-tiges forest

In this beautiful Oak Grove with strange shapes, to discover in the trees, 12 paths of increasing difficulties, for the youngest accompanied by the parents, to the most intrepid hungry for thrills. A quieter walk at the foot of the trees, in the forest is also possible, a stroll along the Ayguelongue : this beautiful Brook that winds in the middle of the trees of the forest of the Vert’tiges and invites to take a break under the shade of the old oaks.

Hiking and lake

If you enjoy the lakeside walks, the great outdoors, hiking, horseback riding or biking, picnics with family or friends, in the mountains or in the valleys, with the massif of the Pyrénées in backdrop, you will never be left , the Béarn is an inexhaustible playground…

Lake activities of Baudreix

It’s a little beach in the mountains ! The recreational area in a green and refreshing setting has rock climbing, games for children, health courses, sports fields, picnic area but also a beach of supervised sand, waterslide, water ski, of a waterjump.

Gabas lake in Eslourenties

This Lake of 220 hectares allows to admire the panorama on the chain of the Pyrénées thanks to a hiking and mountain biking around the Lake, to fish (by boat, to make the boat (catamaran, optimist, paddle), to explore the didactic discovery course of the basins of nursery.

02

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and its specific sports

Béarn offers a wide range of sporting practices whether in individual sport, team sport, family or friends, in competition, or for pleasure. Everyone can find an activity that resembles him, from the most classic (sneakers, badmington, rugby, football, handball, tennis, volleyball, Aqua aerobics, sports halls, etc.) to the most original. Some activities, well anchored in the landscape are more than centenaries, while others, more recent, gradually make their place in the heart of the béarnais.

Running is one of the favorite practices of weekends. Each practice in its own way : mountain trails for the most ambitious, the feminine for the engaged, the Greenways for jogging in family, endurance races on horseback for the most seasoned…

Basque pelota

Basque pelota, a sport of rare intensity, requires strength, skill and agility. Its followers benefit from exceptional equipment for its practice. The agglomeration has equipped itself with a Jaï Alaï which welcomes all the sports of Basque balls (Cesta Punta, Chisterra, Pelote…).

Golf

Golf is a practice imported by the English who dates from the nineteenth century. Pau Golf Club 1856 is the oldest golf course on the European continent. For amateurs like seasoned, 5 Golfs in Béarn Pyrenees: Golf blue green de Pau Artiguelouve, Golf Club de Salies-de-Béarn, golf compact Idron, Navarrenx Golf Club.

Bicycling

Follower of the tour de France, you will enjoy the route of the Pyrénées passes : l’aubisque, Marie-Blanque and la Pierre St-Martin, otherwise the paths of St-Jacques, the route of the vineyards, the mountain biking trails, the bicycle greenways, so many itineraries to travel to two wheels.

Fencing

The Royal City is a stronghold of fencing in France with the Organization of many French Championships in different categories, but also by the success of its teams. Over the past six seasons, the Pau have accumulated three titles and three silver medals in a sabre team.

Pau-Arnos racetrack

The mechanical Center Pau-Arnos is unique by the natural quality of its site placed in the heart of a Green Valley at the foot of the Pyrenees and by its selective configuration. Designed by professional drivers of the auto and motorcycle competition, the speed track, born under the sign of performance and technicality, allows everyone to try at speed and mechanical sports.

Skiing

Since the Ski Club of Pau was created in 1908 at the station of Gourette, the first resort of the Pyrenees, the Béarn has stopped investing in the white gold. It is possible to practise today Alpine skiing in the stations of Gourette in the ski area completely renovated, but also Artouste, Arette; and in particular the Nordic skiing in Issarbe and Somport. Discover also beautiful snowshoeing or Nordic walking in the beautiful areas of Issarbe, Somport and la Pierre St-Martin.

And to get to the scene, nothing better than the ski bus ! During the season and during the school holidays, shuttle buses are in daily connections between Pau and Gourette, between Oloron-Sainte-Marie and la Pierre Saint-Martin, between Laruns and Artouste.

03

Pau Béarn Pyrénées and water

If Pau Béarn Pyrenees is a land of greenery, the water is very present to live nature intensely, sportingly or pleasantly.
The gave and the whitewater Stadium range from pairs for thrills. Water bodies are set up to enjoy fun activities for both young and old alike. Swimming pools and water stadiums throughout the entire territory offer all sorts of sporting and aquatic activities. Thalassotherapy and balneotherapy centres are often associated with it to awaken its senses and recharge.

Stade d’eaux vives of Pau

It hosts international Canoe-Kayak competitions, but you can also practice rafting and whitewater sports, and enjoy a lunch at the Club-House terrace with your friends. This pool can accommodate all audiences from the age of eight. Thanks to a flexible operating mode, the water flow can be regulated according to the capacity and the maturity of the users.

live nature logo aquaspor park 0 | Invest in Pau
Aqua Béarn

This aquatic park, with a green and wooded area of 5 hectares, nestled in the heart of the Béarnaise countryside, not far from Pau and Oloron Sainte-Marie, offers many aquatic attractions such as: wave pool, River with buoys, slides and pentaglisse, boat and boats buffer…

Calicéo Pau

Calicéo is an aqualudic Centre of balneotherapy open all year round. Baths ranging from warm to warm relaxing are equipped with waterfalls, goosenecks, jacuzzi and geysers, a sauna, a hammam and treatments and massages but the centre also offers sports with aquabike or aqua aerobics.

We use cookies to provide the services and features offered on our site and to improve the experience of our users. Cookies are data that are downloaded or stored on your computer or any other device.

By clicking on “I accept”, you accept the use of cookies. You can always disable them later. If you delete or disable our cookies, you may encounter interruptions or problems accessing the site.

Invest in Pau

Pau Béarn Pyrénées

Terre d’aventures et de nature

Pour vivre le sport, la nature, la détente et les nouvelles expériences, le Béarn est un terrain de jeu idéal. Ce territoire vert et généreux offre une large palette d’activités et de sensations : du sommet des montagnes au centre des villes, de la randonnée à la pratique d’un sport collectif en salle, du fin fond de la vallée d’Ossau aux parcs arborés du cœur de Pau, des activités d’eaux-vives aux centres nautiques et centres de balnéothérapie…

01

La couleur principale du territoire de Pau Béarn Pyrénées est sans aucun doute le vert.

Que ce soit la couleur des pelouses du Parc Beaumont, comme celle du Parc National des Pyrénées, les côteaux du Jurançon ou la Vallée d’Aspe, les terres agricoles et les jardins des villes, tout en Béarn est vert. Même Pau, la ville du « vert-Galant », est la ville de France qui possède le plus d’espaces verts par habitant !

Pau, capitale des villes jardins

Pau affiche 330 hectares d’espaces verts municipaux. Si on ajoute les domaines nationaux de la forêt de Bastard (291 hectares) du parc du Château (19 hectares) du bois de l’hôpital et du parc de l’université, on arrive à 650 hectares. Si on tient compte du nombre d’habitants, chaque Palois dispose de 81 m2 d’espaces verts.

Parc Beaumont

A l’origine, ce parc appartenait à la famille de la comtesse Anna de Noailles. En 1898, Henri Martinet, architecte paysagiste, le redessine dans un style anglais. De ses allées qui convergent vers le kiosque à musique à son lac au cyprès chauve, le parc Beaumont abrite de très beaux arbres pour beaucoup centenaires: des séquoias toujours verts de Californie, des cèdres de l’Himalaya, des araucarias d’Argentine et du Chili, des arbres de Judée, des marronniers d’Inde des Balkans, des magnolias. Bucolique, le jardin pyrénéen rappelle la montagne, ses rochers, ses vivaces, ses ruisseaux. Tout près, sur la pente sud, le Théâtre de Verdure accueille des spectacles en été.

Parc National des Pyrénées en Ossau

Le Parc couvre une zone de 8000 ha en haute vallée d’Ossau. Sur la commune de Laruns, depuis le sud de Gabas jusqu’à la frontière espagnole, du col d’Ayous au lac d’Artouste, il gère et protège le milieu naturel et toute sa biodiversité (faune sauvage, flore, paysages, sites …). Il accueille et informe le public dans sa Maison du Parc et propose de nombreuses activités et manifestations en saison.

La Verna

Découverte en 1953, au cœur des montagnes calcaires de Haute-Soule et du Barétous, entre Pays-Basque et Béarn, la grotte est un site géologique d’exception, aux volumes hors du commun. La gigantesque salle de La Verna, aménagée pour être visitée depuis 2010, est la plus grande au monde, elle est dix fois plus grande que notre Dame de Paris. Après la visite de la salle, un long escalier taillé dans la roche et les éboulis permet d’accéder au déversoir de la rivière et d’avoir une vue panoramique sur le gouffre de la Pierre Saint-Martin et sur la galerie par laquelle les premiers explorateurs sont arrivés.

Les grottes de Bétharram

Les grottes de Bétharram sont parmi les plus belles d’Europe. Elles sont situées sur deux départements : on y entre par les Pyrénées-Atlantiques et on en ressort par les Hautes-Pyrénées. Elles se visitent par bateau et par train : la partie visitée s’étendant sur 2,8 km avec une impressionnante dénivellation de 80 m et le parcours souterrain de la rivière couvre 3,5 km. Le visiteur pénètre dans la montagne par un orifice naturel, profite de vastes salles riches en concrétions, découvre le gouffre qui les relie à la rivière en suivant une faille naturelle, témoin du travail de l’eau, puis sort par un tunnel artificiel creusé de 1913 à 1924.

La Falaise aux vautours

L’espace muséographique original est situé au pied des falaises d’Aste-Béon en Vallée d’Ossau. Grâce à des caméras placées près des nids, il est possible d’observer en direct les vautours fauves et le percnoptère d’Egypte, dans leurs nids, de l’éclosion au 1er envol des jeunes, du nourrissage des petits à l’entraînement au vol. Un parcours pédagogique et ludique avec 12 salles sur 372m² permet la découverte de la vie en montagne, ce territoire que partagent les bergers et les rapaces…

Forêt des Vert-tiges

Dans cette belle chênaie aux formes étranges, à découvrir dans les arbres, 12 parcours de difficultés croissantes, pour les plus petits accompagnés des parents, jusqu’aux plus intrépides avides de sensations fortes. Une promenade plus calme au pied des arbres, dans la forêt est aussi possible, une balade le long de l’Ayguelongue : ce joli ruisseau qui serpente au milieu des arbres de la Forêt des Vert’tiges et invite à prendre une pause sous l’ombre des vieux chênes.

Randonnées et lacs

Si vous appréciez les balades en bord de lac, le grand air, les randonnées à pied, à cheval ou à vélo, les pique-niques en famille ou entre amis, en pleine montagne ou dans les vallées, avec le massif des Pyrénées en toile de fond, vous ne serez jamais en reste, le Béarn est un terrain de jeu inépuisable…

Espace de loisirs du lac de Baudreix

C’est un peu la plage à la montagne ! L’espace de loisirs dans un cadre verdoyant et rafraîchissant dispose de rochers d’escalade, de jeux pour enfants, de parcours santé, terrains de sports, aire de pique-nique mais aussi d’une plage de sable surveillée, de toboggan aquatique, d’un téléski nautique, d’un waterjump.

Lac du Gabas à Eslourenties

Ce lac de 220 hectares permet d’admirer le panorama sur la chaîne des Pyrénées grâce à un parcours pédestre et VTT autour du lac, de pêcher (en barque, de faire du bateau (catamaran, optimist, paddle), d’explorer le parcours découverte didactique des bassins d’alevinage.

02

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et ses sports spécifiques

Le Béarn propose une large palette de pratiques sportives que ce soit en sport individuel, en sport d’équipe, en famille ou entre amis, en compétition, ou pour le plaisir. Chacun peut y trouver une activité qui lui ressemble, du plus classique (baskets, badmington, rugby, football, handball, tennis, volleyball, aquagym, salles de sports, etc.) au plus original. Certaines activités, bien ancrées dans le paysage sont plus que centenaires, tandis que d’autres, plus récentes, font petit à petit leur place dans le cœur des béarnais.

La course à pieds est l’une des pratiques préférées des week-ends. Chacun le pratique à sa façon : les trails en montagne pour les plus ambitieux, la féminine pour les engagées, les voies vertes pour le jogging en famille, les courses d’endurance à cheval pour les plus chevronnés…

La pelote Basque

La pelote basque, sport d’une rare intensité, exige force, adresse et agilité. Ses adeptes bénéficient d’un équipement exceptionnel pour sa pratique. L’agglomération s’est équipée d’un Jaï Alaï qui accueille l’ensemble des sports de balles Basques (Cesta Punta, Chisterra, Pelote…).

Le golf

Le golf est une pratique importée par les anglais qui date de XIXème siècle. le Pau Golf Club 1856 est le plus ancien golf du continent Européen. Pour les amateurs comme les chevronnés, 5 golfs en Béarn Pyrénées : Golf Blue green de Pau Artiguelouve, Golf Club de Salies-de-Béarn, Golf Compact Idron, Navarrenx Golf Club.

Le cyclisme

Adepte du Tour de France, vous apprécierez la route des cols des Pyrénées : l’Aubisque, Marie-Blanque et La Pierre St-Martin, sinon les chemins de St-Jacques, la route des vignobles, les sentiers VTT, les voies vertes cyclables, autant d’itinéraires à parcourir à deux roues.

L’escrime

La citée royale est une place forte de l’escrime en France avec notamment l’organisation de nombreux championnats de France sur différentes catégories, mais aussi par la réussite de ses équipes. Ces six dernières saisons, les palois cumulent trois titres et trois médailles d’argent en équipe au sabre.

Circuit Pau-Arnos

Le pôle mécanique Pau-Arnos est unique par la qualité naturelle de son site placé au cœur d’un vallon verdoyant au pied des Pyrénées et par sa configuration sélective. Conçue par des pilotes professionnels de la compétition auto et moto, la piste de vitesse, née sous le signe de la performance et de la technicité, permet à tous de s’essayer à la vitesse et aux sports mécaniques.

Le ski

Depuis que le Ski-Club de Pau a été créé en 1908 à la station de Gourette, première station des Pyrénées, le Béarn n’a cessé d’investir dans l’Or blanc. Il est possible de pratiquer aujourd’hui le Ski Alpin dans les stations de Gourette au domaine skiable entièrement rénové, mais aussi Artouste, Arette; et plus particulièrement le Ski Nordique à Issarbe et au Somport. A découvrir aussi de superbes balades en raquettes ou marche nordique dans les magnifiques domaines d’Issarbe, du Somport et de La Pierre St-Martin.

Et pour vous rendre sur les lieux, rien de mieux que le ski-bus! En saison et pendant les vacances scolaires, des Navette-bus sont en liaisons quotidiennes entre Pau et Gourette, entre Oloron-Sainte-Marie et La Pierre Saint-Martin, entre Laruns et Artouste.

03

Pau Béarn Pyrénées et l’eau

Si Pau Béarn Pyrénées est une terre de verdure, l’eau y est très présente que ce soit pour vivre la nature intensément, sportivement ou agréablement.
Le Gave et le stade d’eaux vives vont de paires pour des sensations fortes. Des plans d’eau sont aménagés pour profiter d’activités ludiques pour les petits comme les grands. Les piscines et stades nautiques répartis sur l’ensemble du territoire offrent toutes sortes d’activités sportives et aquatiques. Des centres de thalasso et balnéo y sont souvent associés pour éveiller ses sens et se ressourcer.

Le stade d’eaux vives de Pau

Il accueille les compétitions internationales de canoë-kayak, mais vous pouvez également y pratiquer du rafting et sports d’eaux vives, et profiter d’un déjeuner à la terrasse du club-house avec vos amis. Ce bassin peut accueillir tous les publics dès l’âge de huit ans. En effet, grâce à un mode de fonctionnement modulable, le débit de l’eau peut être régulé en fonction de la capacité et de la maturité des utilisateurs.

vivre nature logo parc aquasport 0 | Invest in Pau
Aqua Béarn

Ce parc aquatique, doté d’un écrin de verdure et arboré de 5 ha, niché au cœur de la campagne béarnaise, non loin de Pau et Oloron Sainte-Marie, propose de multiples attractions aquatiques telles que : piscine à vagues, rivière à bouées, toboggans et pentaglisse, embarcations et bateaux tampon…

Calicéo Pau

Calicéo est un centre aqualudique de balnéothérapie ouvert toute l’année. Des bains allant du tiède au chaud délassant sont pourvus de cascades, cols de cygne, jacuzzi et geysers, un sauna, un hammam et des prestations de soins et de massages mais le centre propose aussi du sport avec de l’aquabike ou de l’aquagym.

Nous utilisons les cookies afin de fournir les services et fonctionnalités proposés sur notre site et afin d’améliorer l’expérience de nos utilisateurs. Les cookies sont des données qui sont téléchargés ou stockés sur votre ordinateur ou sur tout autre appareil.

En cliquant sur ”J’accepte”, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. Vous pourrez toujours les désactiver ultérieurement. Si vous supprimez ou désactivez nos cookies, vous pourriez rencontrer des interruptions ou des problèmes d’accès au site.